‘Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince’ by J.K.Rowling – Book Review *Bonus*

 

Four Out Of Five Stars ****

Link to this book on Goodreads: http://www.goodreads.com/book/show/1.Harry_Potter_and_the_Half_Blood_Prince

Forgot about this review and decided to post it as ‘Deathly Hallows’ seemed to get some attention 🙂

_ _ _ _

The sixth Harry Potter book! It only seemed like yesterday that i picked up Harry Potter and the Philosophers Stone (Sorcerers Stone in some places) in January. How we have progressed from little eleven year old Harry, to the dashing sixteen year old!

The first point that I would like to…uh..point out is that OMG! Harry Potter is in a relationship with GINNY WEASLY! I was not expecting that! So glad though. Cho Chang was totally not his type.

Call me strange, but I really can’t seem to keep myself away from spoilers. And this book was no different. I was Googling Ginny Weasly, just checking that she was a suitable match and getting a visual, when I came across this Wikipedia page. Now, this certain Wikipedia page told me that Ginny and Harry TIED THE KNOT! But only in the film and not the book.

WHAT?

Please no! I realise that in the end of this book, Harry ended the relationship with Ginny. But why did the producers of the movie have to add that in? If Rowling didn’t want there to be any more romance between the two, then WHY ADD IT IN? Mindboggling. Plus, it’s confusing me.

I HAVE to read Deathly Hallows now.

The Second point, (niggle really) is how on earth does Harry buy christmas presents? In the books, there is never any mention that he travels to any place to buy gifts. Diagon Alley is probably the only place to buy such things and there is no mention that Harry has traveled there. I’m puzzled. Of course I realise that Rowling couldn’t add everyhting into the book, like how many times a day Harry went to the bathroom. That would totally become a bestseller. O.O

Third Point, in The Half Blood Prince, we find out a few things about Snape. More correctly, we find out that he is a traitor.  Also, Draco Malfroy is still a snotty-nosed brat. Grrr. I want to kick him up the bum for Harry. That bit with Crabb and Goyle! Hilerious!

There was one particular part in this book that completely tickled me pink. Harry, Ron and Herminone were taking an apparition practise class. They had to disapear and then reapear inside a hoop that was a few feet in front of them. I think it was Neville Longbottom that the incident happened to. Forgive me if my facts are wrong. Anyhow, Longbottom  fell  into the hoop and looked so pleased with himself, having thinking that he had mastered the class. BUT, he had in fact, fallen in. It was amazing.

The unfortunate demise of Hogwarts headmaster has greatly intrigued me. I wish to very much read Deathly Hallows and possibly watch the films. (I have not been watching the films whilst reading the books.)

That, i think is enough review for one book 🙂

Star 😛

5 thoughts on “‘Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince’ by J.K.Rowling – Book Review *Bonus*

  1. Pingback: Best Books of 2012 « ReadingToTheStarsAndBack

  2. An attention-grabbing dialogue is worth comment. I think that it is best to write extra on this topic, it might not be a taboo subject however typically individuals are not sufficient to speak on such topics. To the next. Cheers

Thanks for commenting! It means a lot :)

