‘Eyes Like Stars’ By Lisa Mantchev – Book Review

Three out of Five Stars ***

Description:

Book One in The Théâtre Illuminata Trilogy.

All her world’s a stage.

Bertie Shakespeare Smith is not an actress, yet she lives in a theater.

She’s not an orphan, but she has no parents.

She knows every part, but she has no lines of her own.

That is, until now.
Actual Proper Review.

This. Book. Was. Disapointing! To the CORE! I expected so much more, but when I finished it…I was left regretting having read it in the first place.
The only reason that kept me from rating this book lower, was the faries. Them, I loved. Adored! But the rest of this book was a bit of a failure in my eyes. Allow me to list some reasons.

Bertie the Main Character – Not only does the name remind me of the red bus in Thomas The Tank Engine, which was a bit distracting, but I also thought that she was a bit boring and predictable. Also, her reationship with Ariel and Nate was just WEIRD. At one point she was in a bath with Nate! Naked! And she supposed to be sixteen/seventeen…does she not know ?

Nate was actually kinda cool. As a lover of pirates, I have to say that I approve.

Ariel, I’m sure, is gay. Yes, he did show feeling for Bertie, but it’s deffinatly a ploy.

The faries were a little unexplained. I didn’t get that three of them were boys and one was a girl until the middle of the book. Rather confusing. Although, there were some funny scenes with the faries that made me laugh.

And what an anti-climax! Bertie was the daughter of some poor woman who continuously tried to drown herself. Nice.

The writing of the book was a good idea, if a bit unexplained. How come Bertie could do that?

Eyes Like Stars could have been a good book. If it had more back story, and more detailing. If the second and third books have good reviews then perhaps I’ll read them. I won’t mark the series off as a waste of time based solely on the first book. Maybe Mantchev’s storytelling will improve through the books 🙂

 

This bit isn’t the review.

I missed last weeks book review so I’ll be posting one on Saturday instead. Aren’t I good?

Star 😛

Thanks for commenting! It means a lot :)

