‘The Earth, My Butt and Other Big Round Things’ by Carolyn Mackler *Saturday*

 

My Rating: 

Synopsis: Fifteen-year-old Virginia Shreves has a larger-than-average body and a plus-size inferiority complex, especially when she compares herself to her slim, brilliant, picture-perfect family. But that’s before a shocking phone call — and a horrifying allegation — about her rugby-star brother changes everything.

Review:

It has taken me ages to write a review of this book, but today I finally will. I think it’s because of the first time I wrote a review for this book, I completely missed the point. And then I deleted it and left it for a few weeks. But it’s only fair that I DO review this book because I DID enjoy it!

Right then, Virginia was a strong character. She was funny, and every teenage girl could relate to her. Even if they didn’t have weight problems, they would still relate.

When the business with her brother happens, I thought that she handled it very realistically. It was very much the same as what I’d do. Stay in my room, eat loads, avoid the person responsible…ect. I also liked how Virgina changed through the book. She started off with negative thoughts about her weight, but towards the end she was starting to except herself. The Earth, My Butt and Other Big Round Things was inspiring to any teenage girl who has confidence issues, or just issues in her life. This book would defiantly give you a laugh and a message at the end of it.

“Never Underestimate Yourself.”

Star 😛

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “‘The Earth, My Butt and Other Big Round Things’ by Carolyn Mackler *Saturday*

Thanks for commenting! It means a lot :)

