‘Bared to You’ by Sylvia Day – Book Review

My Rating:

Synopsis: Gideon Cross came into my life like lightning in the darkness—beautiful and brilliant, jagged and white-hot. I was drawn to him as I’d never been to anything or anyone in my life. I craved his touch like a drug, even knowing it would weaken me. I was flawed and damaged, and he opened those cracks in me so easily…

Link to this book on  Goodreads:  http://www.goodreads.com/book/show/14288719-bared-to-you

Review:

Well, i succumbed and got this book. I swapped it for Twilight. Still wondering if that was a good idea.

The reason I ‘Bared to You’ is because I’d read a few reviews comparing if to ‘Fifty Shades of Grey’ but without the BDSM. In fact, ‘Bared to You’ is almost exactly the same as Fifty Shades. I’m half wondering if BtY is a fanfiction of FSoG…which is a fanfiction of Twilight. Funny old world isn’t it?

Characters:

Eva Tramwell, the girl who kept running away. By the end of this book I was getting so annoyed by her! Why did she keep walking out? Gideon is supposed to be the best man you’ve ever met, you’re in love with him, and you keep leaving him. Why do girls do this? Eva kept getting jealous every single time Gideon turned around and talked to another girl. There was this one girl that Gideon had been engaged to…and Eva starts going on and one about that! Have you had sex with her? She’s more beautiful than me. Is that why you liked her? Girl, just accept that the guy loves you and only you…and move on! Damn!

Gideon Cross, the romantic. Told Eva he liked her by humping her in an elevator. Well done. Gideon was almost as bad as Eva on the jealousy scale. So…Eva lives with this bisexual guy right? First Gideon and the bisexual guy- whose- name- i- have- forgotten-shows-what-a-character-he-was-right? are ememies and all ALPHA MALE on each other. But in the next chapter they’re laughing and eating pizza (Hmm…pizza) and talking about business. What? Pretty sure I missed something there.

And why does the female character always have handsome guys hanging off her arms. The bisexual guy- whose- name- i- have- forgotten-shows-what-a-character-he-was-right? is obviously HAWT! because…he just is. Then Gideon has the most mouthwatering body on earth and Eva can’t wait to get him naked.

The Naked Parts, were rather steamy. Although it was ruined when Gideon asked if Eva wanted to be a Sub. No…wait. Gideon TOLD Eva she was a sub. How nice.

The Subplot, meaning both Gideon and Eva’s mental health. All through the beggining of the book there were little hints about Eva’s past and how she was so messed up. By the time the explanation came around I had already guessed what had happened. Gideons past wasn’t explained though…and i though that was good otherwise we would have had a ‘I a messed up and I need help’ kind of book instead of a romance.

This is the first book that I have read by Sylvia Day and although ‘Bared to You’ was a good read and I enjoyed it over a Diet Pepsi and a pack of doughnuts, I don’t think that I’ll be reading the sequel.

One last thing…..Eva is VERY similar name to Ana, isn’t it. And the synopsis sucks. Doesn’t really tell you much about the book nor do it justice 🙂

(I’m on a bit of a review writing fest at the moment, so if I post more than one review today….I’m enjoying myself! Gives me practie right? 😉 )

Star 😛

Thanks for commenting! It means a lot :)

