‘Shatter Me’ by Tahereh Mafi – Book Review *Monday*

My Rating:

 

Synopsis: Juliette hasn’t touched anyone in exactly 264 days.
The last time she did, it was an accident, but The Reestablishment locked her up for murder. No one knows why Juliette’s touch is fatal. As long as she doesn’t hurt anyone else, no one really cares. The world is too busy crumbling to pieces to pay attention to a 17-year-old girl. Diseases are destroying the population, food is hard to find, birds don’t fly anymore, and the clouds are the wrong color.

My Review:

Loved this book! Even gave it a five star! Look at that! Doesn’t happen very often, I can tell you!
I’m going to list some of the things that I liked and what made me give ‘Shatter Me’ five stars!

The Cover and Layout
The cover is beautiful! The dress looks like a wedding dress. The girl looks ready to kick some butt. And i like how sentences throughout the book are crossed out. Funny Story: My brother looked over my shoulder and told me that I should take it back to the shop. I thought that he had read further along the page and found a sex scene or something, but no. He just thought that someone had randomly scribbled out sentences from the book. (There are no sex scenes in this book)

It’s not that funny a story is it?

Either way, I think it’s really cool and makes it feel like a real diary. When I write, I can barely go a page without crossing something out. Most books that have the main character writing in a diary don’t do that and therefore…this book in unique.

Characters.

Juliette was a very strong character. At the beggining of the book, she was strong…but crushed at the same time. Not being able to see the sun or even go outside for months can do that to a person. By the end of the book, she had discovered just what she could do with her power.

Adam seems…nice. I don’t really like him. He just wasn’t giving off the right vibe. Now, his friend Kenji. Yum, yum! I think that in the following two books they should at least get some on screen action. Yeah. Warner was a bit weird (very) , also possesive. But i liked that. At least i remembered him because of the weird pysco possesiveness.

The Actual Writing

Some parts of the book were repetitive, and the similes were impossible. Read this review: http://www.goodreads.com/review/show/260109263
Because it’s funny and waaaay better than this one. Also, it made me laugh even though she didn’t like it…and I did! Unity on Goodreads! Peace!

Think thats all the rambling reviewing I’ll do for this book. Looking forward to the sequel!

(I’ll be posting reviews up every day for this week. I’ve got a bit behind on my reviews and I need to get on top of it. Tomorrows review is ‘The Future of Us’ by Jay Asher and Carolyn Mackler.

Star 😛

One thought on “‘Shatter Me’ by Tahereh Mafi – Book Review *Monday*

  1. Pingback: Best Books of 2012 « ReadingToTheStarsAndBack

Thanks for commenting! It means a lot :)

