‘The Future of Us’ by Carolyn Mackler and Jay Asher – Book Review *Tuesday*

My Rating:

Synopsis: It’s 1996 and very few high school students have ever used the internet. Facebook will not be invented until several years in the future. Emma just got a computer and an America Online CD. She and her best friend Josh power it up and log on – and discover themselves on Facebook in 2011. Everybody wonders what they’ll be like fifteen years in the future. Josh and Emma are about to find out. (Link to this book on Goodreads: http://www.goodreads.com/book/show/12317877-the-future-of-us 

My Review:

When I first read this book and rated on GoodReads, I gave it five stars. But now that the brilliance of the book has worn away, I’ve changed my rating to Four Stars.

Allow me to list some of the things that I didn’t like about ‘The Future of Us.’

1) The change in who narrates the chapter. It was a little confusing, one minute Emma is narrating and I’m just getting into her ‘voice’ and then the chapter changes to Josh, and he’s talking about something completly different!

2) The whole ‘we were friends up until last November – when everything changed’. What changed? It’s hinted at all through to the middle of the book, and then we find out that Josh tried to kiss Emma and she backed away. End of. End of friendship even-though-they’ve-been-best-friends-since-well-forever.

3) I wanted there to be more about how Facebook came to be on her computer. It doesn’t explain that in the slightest. The book ends and thats it. I guess we have to wait fifteen years and maybe a sequl will be released.

4) Emma was annoying. She changed her mind every five seconds and was almost obsessive about changing her future, which didn’t even matter in the end because she ended up with her best friend anyway.

5) Even though ‘The Future of Us’ was set in the year before I was born, it felt very modern. (That might be because I’m British and this book is set in America and we do stuff different.)

I loved the idea of this book, the two friends finding profiles on Facebook, a website that hasn’t been invented yet. Who wouldn’t love that storyline? I enjoyed this book while I was reading it, thought it was funny…but probably won’t be keeping it.

While I was reading this book, I couldn’t tell that it wa written by two people. I don’t know how thye wrote it, one author write Josh’s part, the other write Emma’s…I don’t know. But I do know that it all flowed together perfectly.

I also found out that Jay Asher is actually a bloke! I thought he was a woman, merely because of his name. And probably because in ‘Thirteen Reasons Why’ the main character is a girl. You tend to place the same gender of the character onto the author. Or i do anyway. 🙂

Update Your Destiny.

(Wednesday’s review will be  Me and Mr Darcy by Alexandra Potter.)

Star 😛

One thought on “‘The Future of Us’ by Carolyn Mackler and Jay Asher – Book Review *Tuesday*

Thanks for commenting! It means a lot :)

