‘Me and Mr Darcy’ by Alexandra Potter-Book Review *Wednesday*

 

My Rating: 

Synopsis: After a string of disastrous dates, Emily Albright decides she’s had it with modern-day love and would much rather curl up with Pride and Prejudice and spend her time with Mr. Darcy, the dashing, honorable, and passionate hero of Jane Austen’s classic. So when her best friend suggests a wild week of margaritas and men in Mexico with the girls, Emily abruptly flees to England on a guided tour of Jane Austen country instead. Far from inspiring romance, the company aboard the bus consists of a gaggle of little old ladies and one single man, Spike Hargreaves, a foul-tempered journalist writing an article on why the fictional Mr. Darcy has earned the title of Man Most Women Would Love to Date.

(Link to this book on Goodreads: http://www.goodreads.com/book/show/528710.Me_and_Mr_Darcy

My Review:

Emily Albright goes on a trip to England on a Jane Austen tour in Bath! (Huh! How come she’s American and gets to go on trips like that while I LIVE in the Uk and have never been to ANYTHING like that? Barrowman! Okay, wow. Inserting Doctor Who jokes on a review about a book which features Mr Darcy. I mean, can you blame me? I’m going to have a Channing Tatum film-fest after writing this review. If my excitement shows you know why. Channing…)

Now ladies. Be prepared, because this Darcy isn’t like the Colin Firth we all know and (lust after) love. This particular portrayal of Darcy isn’t very flattering at all. He’s rude, possessive and annoying!

Me and Mr Darcy is NOT like Bridget Jones. It’s NOT a modern re-telling of Pride and Prejudice. It’s more centred around Darcy than anything else. Although comparisons can be made.

There’s this guy on the Jane Austen tour aswell. His name is…Spike **cough** Wickham **cough**. Emily gets to know this OTHER guy, an older guy who is their driver, and this older guy tells Emily that Spike punched him for no apparent reason. Emily gets all huffy and blanks Spike completely. (Spike and Emily’s relationship is a walking cliché, btw.) So, Spike writes an email to Emily and explains it all. No, im not telling you what happened, you have to read the book to find out. Lazy.

Another thing that I didn’t like about this book is that how Darcy got there in the first place isn’t explained. He just appears in a room, and then disappears again. It’s not even supernatural. I’m convinced that Emily was deluded and was just imagining him.

Too much swearing! Seriously…I was going to lend this to someone but I know that they don’t like that kind of this so I couldn’t share this book with them! Annoying!

My favourite part of the book was when Darcy took her horse riding. How THAT was funny 🙂 Made me giggle.

All in all, i would rather watch the TV-series or Bridget Jones than read this again. It was good while I was reading it…but once I got round to reviewing it, it made me realise how it wasn’t as perfect as I first thought.
(Thursdays review is…Empress of Rome by Kate Quinn!)

Star 😛

Thanks for commenting! It means a lot :)

