‘Empress of Rome’ by Kate Quinn-Book Review *Thursday*

My Rating:

Synopsis: Brash and headstrong, Vix is a celebrated ex-gladiator returned to Rome to make his fortune. The sinuous, elusive Sabina is a senator’s daughter who craves adventure. Sometimes lovers, sometimes enemies, Vix and Sabina are united by their devotion to Trajan. But others are already maneuvering in the shadows. Trajan’s ambitious Empress has her own plans for Sabina. And the aristocratic Hadrian — the Empress’s ruthless protégé and Vix’s mortal enemy — has ambitions he confesses to no one, ambitions rooted in a secret prophecy.

(Link to this book on Goodreads  and Amazon)

My Review:

I read ‘Mistress of Rome’ a few months ago and loved it, straight after that I reserved ‘Empress of Rome’ at my local library and here is the review. Obviously.

I gave this book a five star rating, that doesn’t happen often! What made me give it one more star than the first book?

Vix was even better in ‘The Empress of Rome’ than he was in ‘Mistress of Rome’, athough that is to be expected because in the first book he was thirteen and in this one he was a MAN! Almost as Alpha Male as his father, but not quite 🙂

Sabina was so annoying and…and…clever. She wanted to live her life the way she wanted to, even if that meant never seeing Vix again.

I loved the way that Vix loved so passionatly. Call me a hopeless romantic, but I want someone to love me with as much a fierce passion as Vix loved Sabina.

I also liked the sub-story that unfolded around Vix and Sabina. So that it wasn’t just about THEM. Particulary, the Emperors Wife. She was a plotter, wasn’t she? I hated her from the beggining but, in a way, it also made me like her. It made me like the charatcer because it had a depth and she wasn’t just ‘The Emperors Wife’, she was ‘The Scheming Wife of the Emperor Who Would Stop at Nothing to Get What She Wanted’.

At least the Emperor was slightly less crazy in this book than the last. Obviously and disapointly, gay but one can’t have everything can they? That also helped with the story to not be boring, who wants straight Emperors nowadays?

The descriptions were much better in this book than the last one, but overall I liked the first book more than this one.

(When I refer to the First Book, i mean ‘Mistress of Rome’ … NOT the prequel ‘Daughters of Rome’.

(Fridays review will be Entangled by Cat Clarke)

Star 😛

3 thoughts on “‘Empress of Rome’ by Kate Quinn-Book Review *Thursday*

  1. Pingback: Best Books of 2012 « ReadingToTheStarsAndBack

  2. Top favourite entry. The site is a real pro. I’ll forward it to my friend. I love this project. Congrats to the writers. Many users will vote for you, if the domain joins a competition. Enjoy your site.

Thanks for commenting! It means a lot :)

