‘Firelight’ by Sophie Jordan-Book Review *Sunday*

(Why does this keep happening? Please don’t say that Goodreads is playing up :S )

 

My Rating:

Synopsis: Marked as special at an early age, Jacinda knows her every move is watched. But she longs for freedom to make her own choices. When she breaks the most sacred tenet among her kind, she nearly pays with her life. Until a beautiful stranger saves her. A stranger who was sent to hunt those like her. For Jacinda is a draki, a descendant of dragons whose greatest defense is her secret ability to shift into human form.

Link to this book on Goodreads and Amazon

My Review:

I enjoy a bit of dragon reading from time to time. The Eragon series…actually thats probably the only dragon series that I have read. I mean, it was so good…why would I want to read anything else? They’d all be the same right?

Wrong!

In ‘Firelight’, the dragons aren’t huge creatures like what we imagine. These dragons have a kind of human form, but certain features change: the eyes, the nose, wings appear. The draki, as they are called in the book, can look completly human with no supernatural elements whatsoever. Except for their blood. Which is purple. Which I thought was awesome.

Jacinda was a good character, a bit repetitive at time. I could totally understand her anger at her Mum and sister for taking her away from her pride. Her Mum was particulary frustrating, especailly when she kept assuming that Jacindas Draki would die just like hers had.

I liked this book so much that I reserved ‘Vanish’ at my library and it’s already on my bookshelf waiting to be read. I hope that we get to know more about her father. And the alpha guy that wanted to claim Jacinda as his mate. Their relationship is going to be great reading about. Even if they don’t like each other.

The cover was brilliant. I didn’t see until I had this book in my hands, the detail on the girls face and her eye. Love the colour of her hair. I wonder if it’d be weird if I took this book into the hairdressers and said ‘I want hair like that’. Techinally, I don’t own this book. So I’d have to take the laptop in.

(That’s it for this week! Finished the reviews…until Thursday….Oo-er!)

Star 😛

 

 

2 thoughts on “‘Firelight’ by Sophie Jordan-Book Review *Sunday*

Thanks for commenting! It means a lot :)

