‘Eve’ by Anna Carey – Book Review

My Rating:

Synopsis:

The year is 2032, sixteen years after a deadly virus—and the vaccine intended to protect against it—wiped out most of the earth’s population. The night before eighteen-year-old Eve’s graduation from her all-girls school she discovers what really happens to new graduates, and the horrifying fate that awaits her.

Links to this book on Amazon and Goodreads

My Review:

I was so disappointed with this book! I reserved it at my local library months and months ago, and I was so excited to read it as there were so many good reviews on it. Plus, it seemed different from any other books that I had read.

The first issue with this book that made me want to chuck it out the window was the crying. Crying! Gah! I have a problem when the main character is always crying. Granted, if i were in Eve’s situation I would probably have a bit of a wail too, but three times in the first 100 pages? It made me want to cry along with her! But i carried on reading because it did make me want to read more and find out what was going to happen to Eve and Caleb.

Also, Eve didn’t sound like an eighteen year old. Probably because she had been taught that boys and men in general were demons. Boys and men in general are really all that eighteen year old girls really talk about aren’t they? Overall, Eve’s general intelligence suggested that she was 15-16.

The idea of a ‘deadly virus that wiped out 98% of the earths population’ is brilliant. You just have to throw in the right characters and sub-plots and it could be the greatest dystopian ever. (This wasn’t it.)

I’m going to talk about the ending now. Shooo! Go away if you haven’t read the end of this book! Scram! you’ve done it now haven’t you? We’re you to talk about the end of this book. I’m going to type and you’re going to read.

At the end when they get to the bridge and it’s a Girls Only zone, why does Eve just let Caleb walk away? I mean….why? Seriously, WHY? At least in Twilight, Bella begged Edward not to go…because SHE LOVED HIM! Eve just realises that Caleb can’t stroll into the city, shrugs her shoulders and saunters through. WHAT??
You can see why that annoyed me. And the whole…’I’m a girl who has never had any contact with boys so therefore they are feral and can’t be trusted, but oh look! A shirtless boy on a horse! I’m in love…kiss me…dreadlocked boy.’ doesn’t really do it for me.

I enjoyed reading it, except for the crying, but looking back it’s just not as good as I’d hoped. Better than Delirium though.

Sorry, Anna Carey and fans! Eve just wasn’t for me. Think I’ll just stick to my Lisa Kleypas romance novels from now on! 🙂

*I read this review of Eve and thought it was hilarious, you have to check it out!*

Star 😛

 

 

 

 

 

Thanks for commenting! It means a lot :)

