‘A Daughter’s Gift’ by Maggie Hope – Book Review

My Rating:

 

 

Synopsis: (Links to this book on Goodreads and Amazon.

Elizabeth Nelson is only ten years old when her mother dies in childbirth. With her father gone, the siblings are separate; her Aunt Betty takes baby Kit. Elizabeth and her brother, Jimmy, are sent to a children’s home and Alice and Jenny are sent into foster care.

My Review:

I really loved this book! My review of this book won’t do it justice at all but please bear with me while i try to gather my thoughts and make a coherent account of this story!

This was the first book that I had read by Maggie Hope and because of the excellence of this one, I will defiantly be looking out for more of hers!

Elizabeth Nelson, the daughter that tries to hold her family together. The few chapters when Elizabeth visits her little brother being looked after by her (horrible, disgusting, naive) Aunt, went straight to my heart! I have three younger brothers and the thought of any of them not knowing who I was and thinking that another woman was their Mother would devastate me!

It made me think of how many mothers must have gone through similar circumstances in that time. absolutely horrible!

And the way that Elizabeth was treated after she was assaulted by a Captain at the hospital where she was working, made me want to jump into the book and tell Matron straight!

Maggie Hope did a brilliant job of not making Elizabeth an overbearing character or,(heaven forbid) a woman who cried at very opportunity. She found a nice balance in between.

The only part of the story that I didn’t like was that Elizabeth kept on doubting herself. In the middle of the book, it was almost every page that she went on about how she was sure that Jack and Jimmy didn’t love her any more….it was as if she actually wanted them to shun her. And i didn’t understand why she had to stay with the abusive farmer. The story wasn’t very clear on that, just said that it was her own stubbornness and because she wanted to protect her sister.

Overall, a very enjoyable read! Would defiantly read it again, and read more of Maggie Hopes books.

Star 😛

Thanks for commenting! It means a lot :)

