‘The Girl in The Steel Corset’ by Kady Cross – Book Review

steel corset

Synopsis: In 1897 England, sixteen-year-old Finley Jayne has no one…except the “thing” inside her.When a young lord tries to take advantage of Finley, she fights back. And wins. But no “normal” Victorian girl has a darker side that makes her capable of knocking out a full-grown man with one punch….

Purchase Links: Goodreads, Amazon

My Rating:

purple book 1(two)purple book 1(two)purple book 1(two)

Review:

A review! Haven’t had one of these in a while have we? Hope you enjoy 🙂

This book was so disapointing! I was so excited to pick this up and then it didn’t turn out so well.

The copy I read had the novella ‘The Strange Case of Finnley Jayne’ right at the beggining. I don’t know if that was published at the same time as the book, (I dunno!) but that was the best part of the book. The novella, that is.

By the last hundred pages, (of TGitSC) I was skimming and flicking through it, trying to find something worth reading. The first half of the book was great! And thats why I didn’t lower the rating to Two Stars.

I had a few problems with this book, the biggest issue being the abundant ‘his jaw tightened’, ‘he looked away, his jaw tight’ ‘her jaw was set tighty’. Almost every few paragraphs I was setting the book down and rolling my eyes.

Not a good sign! You want your book to be unputdownable, not have your reader set it down every few minutes!

The actual idea for this book was different and it had all of the gadgets, but was let down by the writing. Which was a right shame! It had the potential to be brilliant and, well, better than it was.

The Characters:

Finnley. I thought she was a little annoying as a main character, her ‘voice’ was seemed kind of stupid and helpless even though she was the girl who could destruct a tank. She was also very naive when it came to the ‘boys’. There is nothing more that frutrates me, is when the heroine is oblivious to the attentions of men.

Example:

Man A stares at her with an intensity that could blow her knickers off.

Girl: But he can’t like me can he? After all, I am so beautiful and I love him. The universe cannot bring us together.

Man A: She can’t love me. Why would she? I’m worthless, even though I’m a King.

Okay, so maybe thats a bit over the top, but we’ve all read books like that, haven’t we?

Griffin. Loved the name! I saw him as a Hugh Jackman kind of guy. Until he opened his literal mouth and turned into a guy with no clue. No clue!

The whole Aether thing was rather good, he connected with ghosts through a computer type of machine. I don’t actually like ghost stories, but this I could cope with 🙂

Jack Dandy. Team Dandy! This guy, I liked! I would ride in a carriage with him any day! I imagined him as Alex Pettyfer. (Or like him anyway. This IS just a teenage girl reading a book and trying to come up with actors that could play them if it came to film. My life is difficult. JOKE!) Dandy was street-wise, he told Finnley he liked her, he was just a great character 🙂

So, the beggining of this book was great, but by the end I was skipping pages and generally wanted it to end. Probably wouldn’t read it again, either would I read the sequels to it. Well, I might if they were SO much better than the first and got fantastic reviews. But not for me really.

Author Bio and Links:

kady cross

Kady Cross is a pseudonym for USA Today bestselling author Kathryn Smith. She lives in Connecticut with her husband and a pride of cats. She likes singing with Rock Band on the 360, British guys, Vietnamese food, and makeup (she’s hopelessly addicted to YouTube makeup tutorials!). When she’s not writing Kady likes to catch up on her favorite TV shows, read a good book or make her own cosmetics. (Click the picture to be taken to Kathryn Smiths Goodreads page. )

Kady’s Website: http://www.kadycross.com/

Thanks for reading!

Star 😛

Thanks for commenting! It means a lot :)

