‘Forsaken’ by Kristen Day – Book Review

forsaken

Synopsis: 

Abandoned by her parents as an infant; seventeen year old Hannah spent her childhood wading through countless foster families until being adopted by the Whitmans three years ago.

Unfortunately, Atlanta’s high society wasn’t quite ready for Hannah…or the strange events that plague her.
Chilling visions of murder, unexplained hallucinations, and a dark, mysterious guy who haunts her nightmares all culminate to set in motion a journey of self-discovery that will challenge everything she’s ever believed; not to mention her sanity.

Sent to live at The House of Lorelei on Bald Head Island, NC for ‘kids like her’, Hannah quickly realizes things are not what they seem. Her fellow ‘disturbed’ teens are actually the descendents of mythical Sea Gods and Goddesses. And so is she.

LINKS:

Amazon

Goodreads

My Rating:

purple book 1(two)purple book 1(two)purple book 1(two)

 

My Review:

I enjoyed this book! At the very beginning I was drawn in and couldn’t stop turning the pages! Or clicking the pages, seeing as I read it as an eBook! Very funny…

The main issue that I had with this book is that it’s very cliché, kind of predictable and Hannah/ Anastasia was a crier. She and her buddies cried over something so insignificant that I can’t even remember what it was.

The general story progressed well, I thought. Kristen Day didn’t try to drag it out and I thought it ended brilliantly! Just enough of a cliffhanger to entice readers to read the next in the series.

Romance in this book was also written very well. It wasn’t over the top, but it wasn’t too understated. (We all like the romance really, don’t we?)
I just wish that Hannah/ Anastasia had been more of a stronger character, she didn’t make me want to like her. I felt like I was making all the effort.

Also, I found this part of the book very amusing. Forgive me, Kristen Day but I’m going to have another giggle over this.

Page 177 – Anastasia and Finn are just started to dance. Anastasia gets worried, but then recognizes the music and realizes that she knows how to ‘shag’.

Yes, shag. Shagging was a very easy dance for me. Slipped to casually in there! I’m sorry, but in England that’s another (crude) word for sex. Is it really another name for a dance? Please let me know!

Sorry Kristen! Little british girl over here, having a bit of a laugh because she found a rude word in your book!

I’m looking forward to reading the next book in the series! Hope that my review didn’t disappoint! (Not that I’m going to change it now. Took me ages to write!)

Author Bio and LINKS:

kristen day I am a southern belle at heart with a crazy streak that desperately tries to escape at every opportunity. I love all things nostalgic, rustic, and quirky. I’ve been told I see the world through rose-colored glasses, but I prefer to think of them as kaleidoscope glasses – swirling and morphing reality into something I can digest (who hasn’t pretended those pasty lima beans were really kiwi strawberry jelly beans?).

I am the author of the DAUGHTERS OF THE SEA trilogy, which includes FORSAKEN, AWAKEN, and CHOSEN (Winter 2012). I love all books, but really enjoy writing young adult, paranormal romances. I’ve loved to write for as long as I can remember. My first published work was my poem RED in second grade (you guessed it – it was a poem about the color red – life altering, I know) that won me 5 gold stars and a spot in my elementary school’s poetry book. That’s when my addiction to the written word officially began. I was the only kid in fifth grade that actually enjoyed diagramming sentences. Go ahead and laugh – its okay.

When I’m not writing I’m making jewelry, painting, drinking sweet tea, watching the discovery channel, or going on random adventures in the mountains of North Carolina with my amazing husband. I graduated from Appalachian State University and dream of becoming a full time novelist.

Twitter

Blog

Goodreads

 

Star 😛

Twitter

Goodreads

 

3 thoughts on “‘Forsaken’ by Kristen Day – Book Review

  1. You are cracking me up! I didn’t even THINK about shagging meaning sex!! Shagging is a swing dance in the US (mainly in the Southern beach states) originating in the 1920’s! It’s really big in South Carolina where I’ve spent a great deal of time:) And I liked your review! Thank you SO much for taking the time to read Forsaken! I have a very good feeling you are going to enjoy Awaken better – it’s a little darker and Stasia’s (kick-ass) side comes out in full force!

Thanks for commenting! It means a lot :)

