‘Disarmed’ by Aliza Mann – Author Interview

disarmed cover Goodreads | Book Trailer

Disarmed by Aliza Mann, Release Date: 12/12/12

Synopisis:

Jessie Workings was no better for the battle upon returning home from his fourth tour. Having had to deal with the consequences of the Afghan war, his emotional stability was called into question by his commanding officer, leading to some much needed rest and relaxation, albeit in the form of a mandated psychological evaluation. There was , however, a bright side of being forced to come home and deal with the battlefield that was his mind. Mavis.

The memory of Mavis VanHorn had warmed him during those bitter nights on tour and now he would see his high school sweetheart once again. Jessie’s only concern was his inability to provide her with what she wanted more than anything – a deeper, and more committed, relationship with him. For years, he’d skated by with offering only scraps of his love, but this time he wonders whether it will be enough.

As he deals with confronting his darkest guilt and sorting through his feelings on returning to the Marine Corps, all that he’s ever really known, can he explore a more meaningful relationship with Mavis? If he can’t, will Mavis stand for continued exclusion from his life after all these years? In answering these questions, Jessie struggles with the most difficult battle he’s ever faced. The one for his heart.

About Aliza and her LINKS:  aliza mann

Website | Twitter | Goodreads | Blog |

Aliza Mann has a familiar story in the world of authors – she has been writing since she was seven, created millions of worlds in her mind and loves everything about literature. Her affair with paranormal began with her brother’s role as Aslan in a school production of The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe. Everything about the story fascinated her and she has never stopped reading since. Much to her mother’s dismay, Aliza would often skip going outside to play with friends in order to stay in her room reading.

Her junior high school experience was not much different. She would spend all her time making up stories for her girlfriends, then spend all evening swapping tales with them over the phone. With high school, college and eventually her professional life, she found less and less time to dedicate to her writing. In 2009, she decided to refocus on her writing career by taking courses and workshops to hone her craft. Her first publication, a historical fiction short entitled Anjani’s Song, was selected for inclusion in Reverie – Midwest African American Journal, an Aquarius Press publication.

Aliza joined Romance Writers of America in 2010, as well as the Greater Detroit Romance Writers of America local chapter. She holds a Savvy Author membership and continues to participate in workshops and critique groups.

Today, she is the mother of two and works in the Healthcare industry as an IT professional. She shares her home with her 13-year-old son and her own personal Alpha-superhero-best-friend. Her daughter lives off campus at a college nearby. She has lived in Michigan since she was a small child and still considers her home state of Georgia near and dear to her heart.

Aliza loves paranormal and contemporary romances, leaning towards searing hot heat levels. Her favorite authors include Sylvia Day, Maya Banks, Lora Leigh and Karina Cooper. She still reads excessively and works on too many stories at once. She wouldn’t have it any other way.

***

Lets get this Interview with Aliza Mann started!

interview

What inspired Disarmed?

Disarmed was really different from most of the stories that I write. First, it came to me initially in a male voice, which never happens with a story that I’m working on. I was watching a documentary on HBO about veterans and PTSD (post-traumatic stress disorder). Watching these strong, virile men struggle with something so seemingly invisible and debilitating was difficult and humbling. And Jessie, my main character, kind of popped into my head and stayed there. So, unlike most of my characters, he was a troubled and tormented soul whose conflict was internal – I think it was born of my need to help him resolve those issues.

How often do you write?

As often as I can. It can be tough. I have a teenaged boy (I didn’t know there would be such smells) and a full-time job. You would think I would never write. But there was times in the middle of the night when I lose track of time and just write, all night even. It makes for long days, but my passion keeps me going. That and lots of coffee.

Do you listen to music when you write? If so, what?

Since I write at night with everyone at home sleeping, I sometimes can’t listen to music for fear of waking the world. Lately, with the holidays, I’m able to get some writing done in the daytime and it’s been Christmas songs and pop. I love Rihanna, Katy Perry, Jay Z. At times, I throw in some older music – Etta James, Duran Duran.

How long did it take to write Disarmed?

Disarmed just poured out of me. I wrote it in about three weeks. Whenever you write a book that fast, the editing can be extensive. It wasn’t fully complete until a couple of months ago. There were plot holes to fix and POV issues to address after that could have been avoided if I’d taken more time the first time around, but when your muse behaves in that way (meaning she wouldn’t shut up) you just have to go with it.

Is Disarmed was made into a film, who would you cast as the main characters?

Goodness, I hadn’t thought about that. For Jessie’s character, I would cast Ryan Gosling. For Mavis, I would go with Zooey Deschanel – she would have to dye her hair, of course. I’ve never seen them act together, but both have a great range.
I heard that you participated in NaNoWriMo this year. Can you tell us anything about the novel you were working on?

During NaNoWriMo, I kind of cheated. I worked on two novels. The first was a romantic suspense novel about an operative working undercover to protect a woman from her husband, who was presumed dead. It was very intense. About halfway through, I was compelled to work on a paranormal, vampire/human romance. I didn’t make my 50,000 words, but it’s always fun to try writing that much in a month.
Do you have any advice for aspiring authors out there?

My greatest advice to an aspiring author is to develop your craft. Never, ever stop reading and learning. That’s the best way to strengthen your voice. Also, when submitting, be diligent, give the editor/agent exactly what they ask for, and develop a thick skin. Join a writer’s group – if it’s romance, RWA is great. If not, seek out the appropriate group. You find support in those affiliations. I don’t think I would have made it this far without them behind me offering advice and helping me with the ins and outs of the industry. All of these things work together and contribute to your art, making you a better writer, more marketable in a sea of others.
Would you like to say anything to your readers?

I would like to tell my readers thanks for taking the time to read this interview, to read the book, and let them know how much I appreciate them. More than anything else, I have a passion to entertain. In the end, it’s all about making them happy. Sincerely, I wouldn’t do this for any other reason.
Thanks for stopping by and letting me interview you! Hope you have many, many more books out soon 🙂

Thank you for having me. I’ve enjoyed chatting with you! It was fun!

disarmed book tour

Thanks for checking out my first Author Interview with Aliza!

Star 😛

Twitter

Goodreads

2 thoughts on “‘Disarmed’ by Aliza Mann – Author Interview

  1. Pingback: January Wrap Up! « ReadingToTheStarsAndBack

Thanks for commenting! It means a lot :)

