‘Awaken’ by Kristen Day – Review

awaken

[Goodreads]

Synopsis: 

The sacrifices we make have the power to shift the very fabric of who we are, and ultimately who we are meant to be…

After learning of her true destiny as the intended Leader of the Tydes, Anastasia Whitman must now embark on a perilous quest to the Underworld before the age of eighteen in order to plant the seed of immortality and complete her essence to become a true Sea Goddess. But before she can make her legendary journey, an unexpected new student transfers to Lorelei; initiating a sequence of events that will unravel Stasia’s new life, and test the boundaries of her relationship with the mysterious, dark, and sexy Finn Morrison. The line between the Underworld and the Living begins to blur as gruesome ghosts, morbid reveries, and pure evil haunt her waking hours as well as her sanity. Once the details of Finn’s own startling destiny are revealed, the dangerous secrets he’s been hiding will threaten the very love Stasia believed to be indestructible. As time begins to run out, she will be forced to choose between the one she loves and the destiny she cannot escape.

Review:

As was the same with Forsaken, I liked this book! Maybe not more than the first book in the series, but I did enjoy it 🙂 I took some notes while I was reading this book, I’ll share a few of them!

Page 60 – Laugh, cry, laugh, cry, cringe, laugh, cry. Someones a wee bit emotional!

Page 74 – I can sympathize! Roller skating and knowing you’re going to fall is the worst feeling in the world! I’m still waiting for my own Finn to catch me…:)

Anastasia always seems to doubt her boyfriend and can’t seem to trust him. I can understand that, seeing as it is her first proper boyfriend and she actually has feelings for him, and if I was in her place I might be scared of him thinking I wasn’t enough. But i hope she doesn’t turn into a Bella Swan character.

Page 83 – I’m guessing Fear Factor, is the american version of ‘I’m a Celebrity, Get Me Out of Here!’ I hate that show! Makes me want to puke!

Anastasia seems to have it all. She is the most talented out of all her friends, and things happen to her while her friends all always left alone. It might as well be a one woman show.

Quite surprised that Anastasia isn’t more concerned/ worried that her BOYFRIEND has to KILL his OWN BROTHER, as in, KILL HIS OWN BROTHER in order to become ‘Prime’. Why can’t he just let it go? Anastasia seems to find it HOT instead of WEIRD, that he’s going to become the next Prime.

Page 106 – Why doesn’t this Liam guy get some balloons,(I’m adding letters to make it less obscene.) and ask Willow out? Or, maybe Willow should grow some and tell him how much she likes him! I hate it when couples are too scared to speak to each other, where’s the romance? Moving on…

Page 117 – Ghosty Gal Bianca isn’t Moaning Myrtle but it’s an added bonus 🙂

Anastasia seems to be having reveries/ dreams every chapter. It’s becoming repetitive and a little annoying!

Page 154 – It’s very Twilight-y now, wallowing in her pain, couldn’t she have asked Finn about being betrothed before casting him out and letting the people take him? Conversation is key in a relationship!

Anastasia’s room mates can be very insensitive, and very hyper. Not in a good way either! It’s just makes them annoying stead of funny and charming.

Page 161 – So Finn has just been taken, so Anastasia is going to a party. Fair enough. But, I thought he was the love of her life? Why is she laughing and having a great time while Finn is locked away and contemplating KILLING HIS BROTHER whom he seems to be on pretty GOOD TERMS WITH??? I can’t get my head around it.

Awaken, was getting so good! But then it ended! Talk about a cliffhanger! At least the third book comes out in February! Overall, i think Awaken was good! But it had several character issues and repetitions to become one of my favourites for the year. Sorry Kristen, but I have high hopes for the third book!

My Rating:

purple book 1(two)purple book 1(two)purple book 1(two)

(Three out of Five)

About Author and LINKS:

kristen day Goodreads | Website | Twitter

I am a southern belle at heart with a crazy streak that desperately tries to escape at every opportunity. I love all things nostalgic, rustic, and quirky. I’ve been told I see the world through rose-colored glasses, but I prefer to think of them as kaleidoscope glasses – swirling and morphing reality into something I can digest (who hasn’t pretended those pasty lima beans were really kiwi strawberry jelly beans?).

Thanks for reading!

Twitter | Goodreads

Star 😛

starnoble97@gmail.com

3 thoughts on “‘Awaken’ by Kristen Day – Review

  1. Pingback: January Wrap Up! « ReadingToTheStarsAndBack

Thanks for commenting! It means a lot :)

