‘Glitch’ by Heather Anastasiu – Book Review and Book Trailer!

glitch

Goodreads | Amazon | B&N | IndieBound | Book Depository

Glitch (Glitch #1)

By: Heather Anastasiu

Synopsis:

In the Community, there is no more pain or war. Implanted computer chips have wiped humanity clean of destructive emotions, and thoughts are replaced by a feed from the Link network.

When Zoe starts to malfunction (or “glitch”), she suddenly begins having her own thoughts, feelings, and identity. Any anomalies must be immediately reported and repaired, but Zoe has a secret so dark it will mean certain deactivation if she is caught: her glitches have given her uncontrollable telekinetic powers.

As Zoe struggles to control her abilities and stay hidden, she meets other glitchers including Max, who can disguise his appearance, and Adrien, who has visions of the future. Both boys introduce Zoe to feelings that are entirely new. Together, this growing band of glitchers must find a way to free themselves from the controlling hands of the Community before they’re caught and deactivated, or worse.

~Rating~

purple book 1(two)purple book 1(two)purple book 1(two)(Out Of Five)

~Review~

I got this book from a Goodreads user, we swapped it on one of the book swapping forums. Great idea!

I saw this book in 2012 and I thought that it looked pretty good. I wouldn’t go out a buy it straight off the shelves, but I really wanted to read it. The cover is awesome and the synopsis totally draws me in.

In this book, I liked the different gadgets that the ‘drones’ had. For instance, the forearm panels. They sounded brilliant! The neck ports were a bit like the Matrix though, (isn’t every dystopian like the Matrix in some way? Slightly unfair to compare them but here we go.) and the whole ‘Zoe…you are the one’ reminded me of ‘Neo…you are the one.’

And lets not forget the Rocky reference. ADRIAN! (I say it to anyone with that name. It’s not personal.)

I wasn’t a fan of the made-up cuss words. But, I did like GNANGY. Gnangy. GnangyGnangyGnangyGnangy. (In my head, I’m saying it with the hard G at the beginning. It sounds so funny!)

I was about 100 pages into Glitch, when I kinda…I glanced at the back page. Cliffhanger! I don’t know what was coming but it looked really intense and I wanted to read Glitch all the way through so i could read the end part in context. But when I got there, I realised that my copy had the first part of Chapter One, Book Two in it. DISAPOINTING!

But the ending was still pretty good and left the way open for book two which was nice 🙂

One more thing that I liked was the emotions that Max felt. The Pleasure, (ooohh!) was something that a teenager would latch onto if it had never felt it before. It was very real and believable.

Overall, I didn’t feel like Zoe was a very strong character. She doubted herself a lot and blamed herself for things that where beyond her control.

The general story-line was something I have read a lot of. The government/rulers lying to the people that they are supposed to look after and using them to do the hard work, brain washing them so that they would obey. Nevertheless, good book, good book. Enjoyed it, and will keep a look out for the second and third 🙂

override shutdown

 

~Trailer~

Saw this and thought that I HAD to share it.

 

About Author and LINKS:

heather Goodreads | Twitter | Website | Blog

Heather Anastasiu grew up in Texas and recently moved to Minneapolis with her family. When she’s not busy getting lost exploring the new city, she spends most days writing at a café or daydreaming about getting a new tattoo.

readingtothestarandback

Thanks for reading!

eMail: starnoble97@gmail.com

Twitter

Goodreads

STAR 😛

 

 

 

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “‘Glitch’ by Heather Anastasiu – Book Review and Book Trailer!

  1. Pingback: January Wrap Up! « ReadingToTheStarsAndBack

Thanks for commenting! It means a lot :)

