‘Circle of Lies’ by Sara Dailey and Staci Webber – Review, Interview and Excerpt

circleoflies cover

(Can’t make cover image any bigger! Sorry!)

Title:

Circle of Lies (Red Ridge Pack #2)

Authors:

 Sara Dailey and Staci Webber

Published:

December 20th 2012

Genre:

YA Paranormal Romance

Goodreads | Amazon | B&N

Description:

Aiden Wright is trying to figure out who he really is, but the truth could cost him his true mate—or his life.

Life has always been easy for Aiden Wright. He’s smart, athletic, funny, and the ladies adore him. But when tragedy strikes, Aiden discovers the truth about who he really is and his whole world comes crashing down around him. Aiden thought that being a teenage werewolf was going to be awesome, but it might just cost him the one girl who could make him whole.

Since her mother’s disappearance, Teagan Rhodes’s life has been littered with her father’s empty beer cans and his hollow promises to change. Convinced that others would only let her down, she keeps everyone at arm’s length—but resisting Aiden’s charm is proving to be more difficult than she thought. Throw in a psychotic werewolf hunter out to terminate the species and one wrong move, one wrong decision could destroy everything.

~My Review~

Now, this book is the second in a series as you may have noticed, I haven’t read the first book, so I’m not familiar with the characters. That can be a good thing or a bad thing. If the author constantly refers to characters from the first book, then the reader won’t be able to get along with the story and be left wondering what went wrong.

You geddit?

I feel like this book didn’t overdo it, but it couldn’t have been a standalone book. I don’t think the authors would have wanted that anyway so it’s all cool! Except that I still don’t really know who Kendall is. Old girlfriend? Deluded girl?

And the announcement of Aiden having a different father to the one that he grew up with was a bit sudden. Like, in the first chapter. I felt like we needed to be re-introduced to the characters a bit and then the announcement could be made!

The chapters were very small! When I first opened it and saw that it had 60+ chapters I was dreading it! But, the chapters are only a page or so, don’t let that intimidate you!

I liked the character of Teagan’s dad. He was written very well, so believable! Relatable. Just wish that we knew more about Teagans Mum. Did we even know her name? Yes, I think they did. You’ll have to read the book to find out!

The love scenes where written very well, but the wolves where lacking. More wolves, more wolves! Although, Teagan did mention Jacob Black so that was a bonus 😛

Some parts of this were a little cheesy, and sometimes the dialogue was a little…forced, and the part with Baby Got Back was cringe-worthy. (You just need to dial 1900 Mix-A-Lot…oh I’m grooving!)

It’s always interesting to read a book written by two authors, instead of just one, but Sara and Staci seem like close friends, and get on a lot 🙂
Also, you wouldn’t have been able to tell that this book was written by two people. That takes skill.

Hats off, ladies!

Overall I enjoyed this book and would be interested in reading the third book in the series, and possibly the first 🙂 but I probably wouldn’t buy them especially.

Star xx

Interview with Staci and Sara:

1): What inspired the Red Ridge Pack books?What made you want to write more than one book?

* We wanted to write a series where each book told different character’s story. Using a werewolf pack would give us a seemingly endless supply  of characters whose stories could easily weave together. Add in the fact that a werewolf pack could be full of family-­‐like drama and that was it, Pack  of Lies was born.

2): Do you listen  to music when you write? If so, what?

*If we are together at Starbucks, then unfortunately, yes. Starbucks isn’t really known for their unbelievable music selections, but they do have caffeine, so they are forgiven. When writing at home, no. We do like a little background noise though, but we both prefer the TV.

3): How long did it take to write Circle of Lies? 

Circle of Lies took seven months. It was our first novel that had a deadline, so of course we felt a little panicked for time. In the end, it worked out though. Our next book, book three, is due in May, so cross your fingers.

4): What kind of books do you girls like to read?

*Sara has been reading a lot of those new YA contemporary novels, the ones where the main characters are in their late teens, early twenties. I have been on a small town contemporary romance kick myself. My favs so far have been Lucky Harbor series by Jill Shalvi sand anything from Kristan Higgins.

5): If Circle of Lies was made into a film, who would you cast as the main characters?

* Oh lets see…Chace Crawford as Aiden Wright, Sara Paxton as Teagan Rhodes and Marshall C. Hall as Peter. That would be one hot movie.

6): Do you have any advice for aspiring authors out there?

*Just write a good story. If you write a good story, a story that you love, the rest will work itself out. Another tip is to be patient. Finding the right publisher, one that will love your book as much as you do, takes time.

7): Do you have any other exciting projects coming up that you can tell us about?

*We are going to write a short story this March that will be a prequel to the Red Ridge series. It’s the story of Aiden’s mother, Lillian. This story will give the readers a first hand look at how all the lies began.

8): Would you like to say anything to your readers?

*We are so excited about Circle of Lies. We hope that you like Adiens story as much as we liked telling it. We love hearing from our readers, so please visit our facebook pages and let us know what you thought.

About Authors and LINKS:

authors  Website | Facebook

Both Sara Dailey and Staci Weber are avid readers, English teachers, friends, wives and soccer moms. They have been teaching together for the past ten years and writing together for six.

Born and raised in Houston, TX, Staci Weber is a graduate of the University of North Texas. Staci is a junior high school teacher with an addiction to reading romance novels. She considers herself incredibly lucky to have a close family, some good friends, a fabulous husband and two beautiful little girls.

Sara Dailey co-authored the Red Ridge Pack Novels with her good friend and co-worker Staci Weber. She has a degree in literature from U of H Clear Lake and is a graduate of The Institute of Children’s Literature. Sara is a native Texan and lives with her wonderful husband and son in League City, TX.

Goodreads Sara | Goodreads Staci

~Excerpt~

I didn’t want to let Teagan go. Ever. Even if I didn’t remember what had happened the last time I’d dropped her off.

“You going to be okay?” I asked, praying I wasn’t overstepping my boundaries.

“Yes,” she replied. “Don’t worry.”

I think she blushed. I wasn’t sure if it was from embarrassment about her father or pleasure at my concern, but it made my blood burn. I wanted to take her back to my car and continue were we left off. Kissing Teagan was unbelievable. The way she’d looked at me, the way she’d grabbed the back of my neck, the way her lips had molded to mine… Nothing compared. No girl. I hadn’t known a kiss could feel like that.

I was about to steal another delicious kiss when the door swung open, scaring the shit out of me. Teagan jumped, too. The man who stood in the doorway was a disaster. His clothes were wrinkled and dirty, and worst was the smell of cigarettes and beer that seemed to pour off of him.

“Who the fuck is this?” he slurred at Teagan. He stood there looking me up and down like he was trying to figure me out.

The memory of this guy belittling his daughter came rushing back. I could feel the tension in Teagan, and it made me sick. She tried to let go of my hand, but I wouldn’t let her. There was no way I was going to let this guy come between us. I hated him already.

Teagan looked at me, and for a moment I thought about picking her up and taking her away from all of this; the sadness and embarrassment in her eyes all but killed me. Reluctantly, however, I let her hand fall.

But I’d never felt this angry before. I couldn’t just let it go. He was a drunken bully used to pushing my girl around, and it wasn’t going to happen tonight. I would see to that. With full-on fury coursing through my veins, my jaw tight, I turned and looked her father straight in the eye. I poured every ounce of contempt that I felt for him into that glare, and her father visibly tensed. It made me want to smile.

I turned to Teagan, who was looking at her feet, humiliated. I lifted her chin with my fingers and grinned. I leaned over and whispered in her ear, “I’m going to wait out here until I see your light come on, okay? Call me if you need me. Anytime. Ever. I miss you already.”

Her smile made me bold. I grabbed her face in my hands and kissed her hard on the lips. I couldn’t help myself; I needed her dad to know that she was mine. Mine. And before I turned to leave, I stood toe-to-toe with him and said, “Lay a finger on her, you will regret it.”

My Links:

readingtothestarandbackTwitter | Goodreads | Email me: starnoble97@gmail.com

Thanks for reading!

Star xx

 

 

 

 

 

4 thoughts on “‘Circle of Lies’ by Sara Dailey and Staci Webber – Review, Interview and Excerpt

  1. Pingback: February Reads and March TBR | ReadingToTheStarsAndBack

  2. Pingback: Weekly Wrap Up 4th-10th February « ReadingToTheStarsAndBack

  3. Thanks for having us on the blog today! We are very excited about this new book in the Red Ridge series, Circle of Lies! We hope you all enjoy it!

    Welcome to the Pack!
    -Staci Weber & Sara Dailey

Thanks for commenting! It means a lot :)

