‘Speechless’ by Hannah Harrington – Book Review

speechless

Title:

Speachless

Author:

Hannah Harrington

Published:

February 2013

Genre:

YA Contemporary/ Romance

Book Description:

Everyone knows that Chelsea Knot can’t keep a secret.

Until now. Because the last secret she shared turned her into a social outcast—and nearly got someone killed.

Now Chelsea has taken a vow of silence—to learn to keep her mouth shut, and to stop hurting anyone else. And if she thinks keeping secrets is hard, not speaking up when she’s ignored, ridiculed and even attacked is worse.

But there’s strength in silence, and in the new friends who are, shockingly, coming her way—people she never noticed before; a boy she might even fall for. If only her new friends can forgive what she’s done. If only she can forgive herself.

Book Links: Goodreads | Amazon | Book Depository

(I received this book from NetGallery in return for an honest review.)

My Review: 4/5 

I requested this book not really knowing what it was about other than the fact that the cover was pretty. But I’m so glad that my request as accepted! I read the first half of this while I was at work with Mum. She was working. I was reading. It was for security reasons. I don’t have to explain myself to you.

The first 10% of this book made me hate Chelsea. She was shallow and could only thing about stupid things and was a big mouth. She was really annoying and I almost put the book down because I didn’t think ‘Speechless@ would have anything else to give.

I was so wrong!

Chelsea turned out really nice and I began to feel sorry for her and take her side on things. It was nice to know that Chelsea changes throughout the book, she was pressured to be like her best friend Kristen, but she sticks up for herself.

While I was reading ‘Speechless’ I felt like I couldn’t say anything because of the vow that Chelsea had taken. The story sucked me in and made me actually feel like one of the characters!

This book was written sooo well! There wasn’t a lot of talking from Chelsea,  and obviously she couldn’t be with her friends 24/7 so some parts of the book had to be inner dialogue, right? There wasn’t so much of it that it felt predictable and uninteresting, but there wasn’t so much speech that it felt like the author was trying to steer her readers away from the main point of the book.  Being speechless!

Overall, I thought Speechless was a great read that touched on some risky subjects, but Chelsea was a great main character with a sense of humour and, in the end she did what was right.

About Author and LINKS:

hannah harrington Goodreads | TwitterWebsite

I don’t like Pina Coladas, but I do enjoy getting caught in the rain.

Oh, and I’m a YA author! My first novel, SAVING JUNE, was published by Harlequin Teen in 2011, and my second, SPEECHLESS, will be released on August 28th, 2012!

readingtothestarandback

My Links:

Goodreads

Twitter

Email: starnoble97@gmail.com

Thanks for reading!

STAR xx

 

 

 

3 thoughts on “‘Speechless’ by Hannah Harrington – Book Review

  1. Pingback: February Reads and March TBR | ReadingToTheStarsAndBack

  2. Pingback: Weekly Wrap Up 11th-17th « ReadingToTheStarsAndBack

  3. Pingback: Covet (Harlequin Teen) | Your #1 Source for Kindle eBooks from the Amazon Kindle Store!

Thanks for commenting! It means a lot :)

