‘Kiera’s Quest: Awakenings’ by Kristy Brown – Book Review

awakeningsTitle:

Kiera’s Quest: Awakenings

Author:

Kristy Brown

Published:

October 17th 2011

Genre:

YA/MG Fantasy

Book Description:

Meet Kiera, a pretty, intelligent, and talented girl, brought up by her uncle, and abandoned by her parents. Life is as normal as she believes it to be, apart from the deep ache inside her, telling her she’s different.

For years, Kiera had dreams where she ventures into a different reality. She’s not alone; a presence is always there, keeping her safe, yet she feels vulnerable, and hunted.

Zakk, Prince of Zantar, is under the Witch Queen’s spell as she tries to take over his world. He crosses paths with Kiera, and their fates are entwined. As their journey unravels, she learns that she is not the only one affected by this prince.

Who is on her side? Will she find out why she has been chosen? How can someone so young, defeat such evil? Will she find the strength to save the ones closest to her? Will this be Kiera’s only Quest?

Book Links:

Goodreads | Amazon

My Review:

(The author contacted me and gave me a PDF copy of her book for an honest review. Yay! Usually it’s me begging authors to send me stuff!)

4/5 Stars

This book started off really well! It was exciting and full of action that made you want to read more!

Zakk, the prince of Zantar, has been thrown into our world and turned into a plastic doll. Also, the Witch Queen is after him and two rings, so that she may rule the earth! It wasn’t the most original of ideas, but I haven’t read a book like this in a long time and was a nice difference!

Kiera had been abandoned by her mother so that she could pursue a singing career. Instantly, you thought ‘Poor Keira!’ She lived with her uncle and worked in his shop, so she wasn’t completely alone but still.

During the book, I thought that Keira was a little dramatic. She practically threw herself off a train, she turned on her best friend because she thought she was plotting against them…

Also, Zakk got lost quite often in the story. It seemed like a recurring theme. At least three times, if not more, he got lost. This was only a 75 page book, so it was quite noticeable.

I liked this quote, it made me laugh. “Jack took a run at his dark rival, whom he once called Brother”. It’s not bad writing, it’s just not really suited to this kind of novel. And…it’s only one more thing, don’t worry!

Kiera flashed her friend Jack, a flirtatious smile whilst running for their lives. I can imagine flashing a smile, because of the craziness, but flirtatious?

Other than the very few things mentioned above that kept me from rating it a five star, i enjoyed this book! It didn’t take long to read, seeing as it was only 75 pages in PDF format. The ending was left open for another book in the series, (I know there is a second and a third sometime in the future.) Would like to see some more background on Zakk and the Witch Queen in the upcoming books!

Thanks for letting me have a copy of your book Kristy!

Book Two:

sacrifices

Kieras Quest: Sacrifices

Kristy Brown

 

 

Goodreads

About Author and LINKS:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA Goodreads | Twitter | Facebook

Hi I’m Kristy and I live in the U.K. I have always written short stories and poetry. I went to university to study acting which I loved, but my real passion has always been writing. So now I write the kind of stories I would have wanted to read when I was a teen. “Kiera’s Quest-Awakenings” is my first ebook. There will be four in the series. Book two-“Sacrifices” came out August 2012(Muse It Up Publishing) Book three is now completed and due out this May. My dream is to have them in print someday! I love reading YA angels,vamps etc. I love my kids and hopefully one day they will enjoy my crazy tales!xx

My Links:

readingtothestarandback

Twitter

Goodreads

Email me: starnoble97@gmail.com

Thanks for reading!

STAR xx

2 thoughts on “‘Kiera’s Quest: Awakenings’ by Kristy Brown – Book Review

  1. Pingback: Weekly Wrap Up #4 25th Feb – 3rd March | ReadingToTheStarsAndBack

  2. Pingback: February Reads and March TBR | ReadingToTheStarsAndBack

Thanks for commenting! It means a lot :)

