‘Scarlet’ (Lunar Chronicles #2) by Marissa Meyer – Book Review

scarletTitle:

Scarlet

Author:

Marissa Meyer

Published:

February 5th 2013

Genre:

YA Sci-Fi/Fantasy/Fairytale

Received:

Bought

My Rating:

5 out of 5

 

 

 

Book Links:

Goodreads | Amazon | BD | B&N

Book Description:

The fates of Cinder and Scarlet collide as a Lunar threat spreads across the Earth…

Cinder, the cyborg mechanic, returns in the second thrilling installment of the bestselling Lunar Chronicles. She’s trying to break out of prison—even though if she succeeds, she’ll be the Commonwealth’s most wanted fugitive.

Halfway around the world, Scarlet Benoit’s grandmother is missing. It turns out there are many things Scarlet doesn’t know about her grandmother or the grave danger she has lived in her whole life. When Scarlet encounters Wolf, a street fighter who may have information as to her grandmother’s whereabouts, she is loath to trust this stranger, but is inexplicably drawn to him, and he to her. As Scarlet and Wolf unravel one mystery, they encounter another when they meet Cinder. Now, all of them must stay one step ahead of the vicious Lunar Queen Levana, who will do anything for the handsome Prince Kai to become her husband, her king, her prisoner.

My Review:

**rubs hands in excitement**

*means Scarlet the book, NOT the character.

I LOVED the new range of characters in *Scarlet! I instantly connected with Scarlet and the search for her grandmother and I completely fell for Wolf. The dynamic between them was incredible. There was so much tension and AHHH!

I know that most people found Cinder and Thorne attractive together, but c’mon guys! Cinder and Kai are forever. Maybe? But Cinder obviously still cares for him.

*Scarlet started at the same time that Cinder ended. Does that make any sense? Cinder ended with the Doctor (no, not THE Doctor) helping her to escape from the royal prison, and *Scarlet began with Cinder following through with her plans.

Thornes character was very dead-pan and hilarious. A nice bit of humour in an otherwise serious book. I laughed at his comments several times.

So glad that IKO was back! The android that wanted to be a human….(data anyone? Star Trek fan!) she was a lovely companion for Cinder.

In *Scarlet, Cinder is finding out who she really is, Princess Selena. (This isn’t a spoiler. Cinder finds out at the end of Cinder. It’s not my fault if you haven’t read the book. Go on! You’re missing out!)

A few more questions about Cinder’s background are answered, but not enough. I’m still eager for the third and fourth books, can’t believe it’s going to be two more years until the final secrets are revealed! I’ll be 18 by the time Winter comes out. Will I still like them? Of course, I will!

The fairytale aspect of these novels, still hasn’t worn out yet. I get excited whenever I think of the next books. **Must. Contain. The. Fangirl.** AHHHH! (It didn’t work.)

My love of Kai fell slightly in *Scarlet, but I was never one to fall in love with Princes. It was always the Beast. Or the genetically advanced Lupine Lunars J

I would advise ANYONE AND EVERYONE to read these books. They are awesome, and I know books with a lot of hype are off-putting, but c’mon. Please? I might actually pre-order the books now. Can you do that?

If YOU wrote a review for this book, then leave a link in the comments and I’ll read it! Possibly (most likely) follow your blog too!

About Author and LINKS:

marissa Goodreads | Website | Twitter

I live in Tacoma, Washington, with my fiancé and our two cats. In addition to my slight obsession with books and writing, I’m big on road-tripping, wine-tasting, and hunting for antiques. I’m represented by Jill Grinberg.

Contact Me: 

readingtothestarandbackTwitter

Goodreads

Email: starnoble97@gmail.com

Thanks for reading!

Star xx

2 thoughts on “‘Scarlet’ (Lunar Chronicles #2) by Marissa Meyer – Book Review

  1. Pingback: March Reads and April TBR | ReadingToTheStarsAndBack

Thanks for commenting! It means a lot :)

