‘MILA 2.0’ by Debra Driza – Book Review

milaMILA 2.0 by Debra Driza

YA Sci-Fi / Thriller

March 12th 2013 by Katherine Tegen Books

480 pages

Recieved:

From Netgalley in exchange for an honest review.

My Rating:

4 out of 5

Book Links:

Goodreads | Book Depository| Amazon | B&N

 

 

 

 

Book Description:

Mila 2.0 is the first book in an electrifying sci-fi thriller series about a teenage girl who discovers that she is an experiment in artificial intelligence.

Mila was never meant to learn the truth about her identity. She was a girl living with her mother in a small Minnesota town. She was supposed to forget her past —that she was built in a secret computer science lab and programmed to do things real people would never do.

Now she has no choice but to run—from the dangerous operatives who want her terminated because she knows too much and from a mysterious group that wants to capture her alive and unlock her advanced technology. However, what Mila’s becoming is beyond anyone’s imagination, including her own, and it just might save her life.

My Review:

Extreme cover love! So pretty with the pixel-y things coming off the girls face and shoulder. Instantly screams sci-fi! That’s what made me request this book, I keep reading romances and thought that MILA 2.0 would be a nice change 🙂

Well, MILA 2.0 defiantly sucked me in! I read 30% in the first night (and that wasn’t just because of my tight reading schedule) MILA 2.0 started off with Mila just settling into school. She and her Mum had moved from their old town into this one because Mila’s father had died.

Even though Mila has ‘friends’, they are the manipulative kind of ‘friends’ that don’t really care about you and will drop you if you’re not cool enough. This is all made WORSE when a boy enrols in school. Hunter.

Now, Mila has a friend called Kaylee. Now children, Kaylee is what we like to call a bitch. Mila sits with him ONE TIME at lunch, and Kaylee instantly strops about. I won’t go into detail, but Kaylee was an infuriating character. Although, at times she was a little too over the top.

Would a high school student really throw someone from a moving car? I realise that she was jealous and thought that Mila was tempting Hunter away from her, but her character was a little extreme.

Also, once Mila found out about her non-humanness and she and her mother were on the run, her school mates just faded into the background, like they were never really there to begin with…

There was so much action! I loved it! Mila wasn’t a girl afraid to get her android nails dirty, there were scenes where she had to complete an obstacle course with lasers plus, an awesome car chase!

**SPOILER**

Handbrake turn! Handbrake turn!  That’s how awesome it was!

**SPOLIER OVER**

Despite Mila being an android built for military use, she was very human. Her relationship with her mother, in the beginning, was very strained but we got to see the love they felt for each other as the book went on.  Also, she had a very human relationship with Hunter, (I don’t want to give too much away!)  but I think it was unnecessary and I preferred Lucas. It made more sense. (READ THE BOOK AND THEN YOU’LL KNOW EXACTLY WHAT I’M TALKING ABOUT!)

Yes, I probably would read the second book. Obviously there’s going to be a second book with THAT cliffhanger, but it makes me wonder what the title would be. MILA 2.02? Totally not funny I know.

I gave this book a four star, because it’s different to what’s out there in YA at the moment, and Mila was very easy to connect with. I didn’t give it was five star because Kaylee was a little OTT and the friends and Hunter faded into the background after the first half.

I would also suggest reading the prequel to this book, MILA 2.0: Origins. It’s about 15 pages and free on Amazon for kindle. (Just click the cover art to be taken to Amazon.)

milaorigins

I haven’t read it yet, but I’m downloading it now 🙂

About Author and LINKS:

debraGoodreads | Website | Twitter

I’m a wife, a mom, a dog lover, a writer, a physical therapist, and the owner of the messiest purses on the planet. No, really. Sometimes I worry that I’ll reach inside for my keys and lose a hand in the process. My YA thriller series debuts in Fall 2012 with Katherine Tegen Books/Harper Collins. Oh, and when I grow up, I want to be Veronica Mars.

3 thoughts on “‘MILA 2.0’ by Debra Driza – Book Review

  1. Pingback: March Reads and April TBR | ReadingToTheStarsAndBack

Thanks for commenting! It means a lot :)

