‘Some Like it in Handcuffs’ by Christine Warner – Review + Author Interview + Excerpt

christine

Today is my review for Some Like It In Handcuffs and an interview with the author, Christine Warner. Tour Host: Buy The Books Tours.

Some Like It In Handcuffs

Christine Warner

Genre: Light-hearted Romantic Suspense with Humor

Published: March 20, 2012

Received:

Ebook copy provided by Buy The Book Tours.

Rating:

3 out of 5

some like it in

 Book Description:

 Sunny Kennedy, the only female in a family of blue blood male detectives, is determined to prove testosterone isn’t the only qualification required to solve a cold case. Handcuffed while undercover then taken to the precinct by an attractive detective, her domineering family demands she work with Detective Judson Blackwolf, or she’s off the case. 

Judson Blackwolf thinks women in law enforcement should work behind the scenes. The prospect of working with his Captain’s sexy daughter doesn’t thrill him. He only agrees in hopes of solving the murder of his one time mentor’s daughter. Once the case is over, he’s moving to Montana to heal his wounds from the loss of his last partner.

 

 

Book Links:

Goodreads | Amazon | B&N | The Wild Rose Press

My Review:

Today is just a mini-review because I have bloggers block. But a few paragraphs is better than nothing, right?

Personally, I liked Some Like it in Handcuffs more than I did Two Timing the Boss. I wasn’t just interested in the romance, I wanted to know how the case ended. Who killed Karina?

Sunny was a very cheerful girl, but what annoyed me about her was that she completely made the wrong assumption with Judson and almost shunned him. She didn’t even bother to ask? It’s very annoying and unneeded for when this happens in books.

Judson had an interesting back story, which I won’t tell you about because SPOILERS!

Overall, I think Warner writes very steamy love scenes and I was surprised by how well she wrote the policeman – bits. The earrings Watson! (Had too.)

Author Interview 🙂

1. How long did it take you to write Some Like it in Handcuffs?

Some Like it in Handcuffs was the first manuscript I ever wrote, so it took me close to a year to complete. Mainly due to the fact that as I was writing, I was devouring books on craft and when I’d learn something new, I’d go back to the starting point of the story and apply everything.

The fun part about writing is that it’s a constant state of learning and improving.

 2. How often do you write? 

I try to write everyday. That doesn’t mean I am always adding to a current wip, it can mean I will write blogs, answer interview questions, or outline a future project.

3. Have you always enjoyed writing?

Always. I have had an affair with the written word—actually words in general—since I can remember.

 4. Do you listen to music when you write? If so, what?

I wish I was one of those lucky authors who could listen to music when they wrote, but I’m not. I prefer to have peace and quiet when I work. The most noise around me is my dogs snoring at my feet or my cats purring on the back of my chair.

 5. What kind of books do you like to read? Has this affected the kind of books you like to write?

I love contemporary romance—always have. So this definitely affects the type of books I like to write. I also enjoy true crime novels, but I have no desire to write one 🙂

 6. If Some Like it in Handcuffs was made into a film, who would you cast as the main characters?

I have a huge crush on Gerard Butler…so he could play Judson Blackwolf and I’d be happy. As for Sunny Kennedy for some reason I think of Angelina Jolie—although she’s a bit older than my character. Of course we’d have to do her up in a blonde wig, but I could easily picture her having the spunk and sass that Sunny has.

 7. If you could meet any author, dead or alive, who would it be and why?

As I mentioned earlier, I love true crime and I have a favorite true crime author. Ann Rule. I’ve read all her books and love her writing style and the fact that she really investigates the stories she writes. Going so far as to meet the victims families and friends. I’d love to sit down and have a long chat with her. She’s had such a long an interesting career.

 8. Would you like to say anything to your readers?

I’d love to truly thank my readers for taking the time to buy and read my books. I know that every author has a unique voice and that they have their own way of weaving a story. Some stories work for some readers and some don’t—so just knowing that they took a chance on my work to give it a try makes me feel honored. Even if they don’t like one of my books, I hope that doesn’t taint their opinion from trying another in the future. So, THANK YOU readers 🙂

 9. One last question, do you have any other exciting projects coming up? (That you can tell us about?)

My third book is releasing with Entangled Publishing in their Indulgence line in June. The title is BACHELOR’S SPECIAL and I’m excited about it. This is another contemporary romance and I love characters, setting and the story and hope readers will too.

I also have a couple of other projects in the works that I hope to send in for submission soon. 2013 should be a very exciting year!

**Hope you have a great year Christine! **

 

About Author:

christine w Goodreads | Website | Twitter | Facebook

Christine Warner is living her dream in Michigan along with her husband, three children, one laptop and a much loved assortment of furry friends. Besides laughing and a good round of humor, she enjoys spending time with her family, cooking, reading, writing but no arithmetic. A confessed people watcher, she finds inspiration for her stories in everyday activities. She loves to read and write about strong heroes and determined, sometimes sassy, heroines. A girl gone wild, at least where social media is concerned, she enjoys meeting other avid readers and writers on Facebook, Twitter and her Website.

Excerpt:

“This isn’t how I wanted it between us.” Judson grabbed the neckline of her sweater, dragging her body to meet his with a solid thump. Sunny licked her lips in answer to the question in his eyes. He lowered his head to move his mouth over hers.

Sunny closed her eyes, a small whimper escaping her lips. She didn’t want it like this either, but that wasn’t possible. Unable to resist her attraction she accepted it wasn’t an affair, or a long distance romance she craved, but for him to love her back. It was all or nothing for her. Her heart sank. She accepted this as their goodbye kiss.

With no thought to what was happening upstairs, Sunny rose up on her toes demanding more. Her lips pulsated against Judson’s. When his hand trembled against her cheek in a soft caress she lost touch with reality.

“Judson.” Sunny’s weakened body drifted farther into Judson’s as his fingers glided down her arms, pulling them to her sides where their fingers intertwined. He forced them behind her before his tongue thrust into her mouth.

Their bodies molded together, she heard her own heartbeat and his as well when he curved his fingers around her rear and squeezed.

That’s when the click of the handcuffs against her wrist connected her to the handle of the locked cupboard.
“What the hell…Judson?” She looked up at him, her knees shook, her body still inflamed with fever.

“Like I was saying, you wait here and I’ll go upstairs to check it out. Backup’s already been called, so you’re safe until your brothers arrive.” Judson winked before walking toward the steps to the third level. Once he reached them he turned toward her and smiled. “Gotcha,” he whispered with his notorious grin.

3 thoughts on “‘Some Like it in Handcuffs’ by Christine Warner – Review + Author Interview + Excerpt

  1. Pingback: Stacking the Shelves #10 / The Sunday Post #9 | ReadingToTheStarsAndBack

Thanks for commenting! It means a lot :)

