‘What’s Left of Me’ by Kat Zhang – Book Review + Trailer

whats left

What’s Left of Me by Kat Zhang

Published: September 27th 2012

By: HarperCollins Children’s Books

Genre: YA Dystopian/ Sci-Fi

Source: Library

Book Links:

Goodreads | Amazon | B&N | Book Depository

Book Description:

Imagine that you have two minds, sharing one body. You and your other self are closer than twins, better than friends. You have known each other forever.

Then imagine that people like you are hated and feared. That the government want to hunt you down and tear out your second soul, separating you from the person you love most in the world.

Now meet Eva and Addie.

They don’t have to imagine.

My Rating:

5 out of 5.

My Review:

I loved What’s Left Of Me! It reminded me of The Host (yeah, I know, everyone says that but it’s true!) with two minds trapped in one body. Two voices, fighting for control. It’s actually a very clever book. When you read about Eva and Addie you instantly think of two little girls running around and causing mischief. But obviously, it’s only one body with two minds or souls.

When you really think of it like that, it takes a while to get used to.

I loved Eva and Addie from the beginning. They live in a dystopian world where each body has two souls interlocked with each other. At a certain age, one of the souls will fade away until only one is left. It like losing a sister or brother, a best friend.

It made me think of conjoined twins and how they help each other getting dressed and things like that. Or when one gets angry and pulls the other one along when if his brother wants to go the other way. That’s is the only scenario that I can use to describe the relationship between Addie and Eva.

Eva is the one that took the back seat, but she never faded away. Addie loved her enough to not push her away completely, but when Eva’s turn came to be the stronger soul, Addie turned jealous of her. In a way. A sisterly way. I guess she didn’t realise how if felt for Eva to have to watch everything with no control.

Devon and Ryan and their sisters Hally and Lissa were also thrown into the mix. They were the ones helping Eva to learn how to move her arms and legs again after being dormant for a long time. Eva had more of a connection with Ryan than she did with Devon. Just saying, I would like to see how that relationship works out in the upcoming books. **hint, hint-wink,wink**

Also, there are the evil doctor people that give me the creeps in books. Like in STARTERS by Lissa Price.  Those kind of horrid doctors. Sometimes, they experiment on the kids and kill off one of the souls. They choose which one stays. It gives me shivers, because it was written so well and captured the emotion of the soul left behind. It’d be like choosing a child to kill. Just because it’s a mental thing not a body doesn’t mean that it has any less meaning.

(Well, I got a bit passionate, didn’t I?)

I know that there are at least two books coming out, but I think What’s Left of Me would have worked as a stand-alone book.

On a side-note, the cover reminds me of MILA 2.0. Or seeing as this book was published first, the MILA 2.0 cover minds me of this cover 🙂

Overall, I really enjoyed this book and would defiantly read it again 🙂

Book Trailer:

About Author:

kat zhang Goodreads | Website | Twitter

Kat Zhang spent most of her childhood tramping through a world weaved from her favorite stories and games. When she and her best friend weren’t riding magic horses or talking to trees, they were writing adaptations of plays for their stuffed animals (what would The Wizard of Oz have been like if the Cowardly Lion were replaced by a Loquacious Lamb?). This may or may not explain many of Kat’s quirks today.

By the age of twelve, Kat had started her first novel and begun plans for her life as a Real Live Author (she was rather more confident at twelve than she is even now). Said plans didn’t come into fruition until seven years later, when her agent sold her trilogy, The Hybrid Chronicles, to HarperCollins. The first book, WHAT’S LEFT OF ME–about a girl with two souls–will released September 18, 2012. Book 2 in the series, ONCE WE WERE, will be released September 17, 2013.

Contact Me:

readingtothestarandback150

Goodreads

Twitter

Email: starnoble97@gmail.com

Thanks for reading! What did you think of Whats Left of Me? Are you going to read the sequels?

Charlie xx

2 thoughts on “‘What’s Left of Me’ by Kat Zhang – Book Review + Trailer

  1. Pingback: Stacking the Shelves #10 / The Sunday Post #9 | ReadingToTheStarsAndBack

  2. When I read this book, I too was immediately reminded of The Host. Frankly, I thought that What’s Left of Me was by far the superior novel out of the two. I feel that Zhang handled the body-sharing concept a lot better than Meyer did, particularly in terms how the books’ respective “weaker” personalities were portrayed. Zhang’s book also seemed to move at a much faster pace.

    I also think that the romance in this book was more interesting than in The Host, largely because it didn’t lead into a love triangle of any description.

    I certainly didn’t find this book perfect. The plot dragged a bit in the middle and I found the villains to be largely one-dimensional. I’d probably rate it between 3 and 4 out of 5, myself. That said, I’ll definitely be buying the sequel when it comes out.

    I’m glad you enjoyed reading it 🙂

Thanks for commenting! It means a lot :)

