‘Infinite Sky’ by C.J.Flood – Book Review

infinite

Infinite Sky by C.J. Flood

February 14th 2013 by Simon & Schuster UK

Genre: YA Contemporary

Source: Library

Book Links:

Goodreads / AmazonBook Depository

Book Description:

Iris Dancy’s free-spirited mum has left for Tunisia, her dad’s rarely sober and her brother’s determined to fight anyone with a pair of fists.


When a family of travellers move into the overgrown paddock overnight, her dad looks set to finally lose it. Gypsies are parasites he says, but Iris is intrigued. As her dad plans to evict the travelling family, Iris makes friends with their teenage son. Trick Deran is a bare knuckle boxer who says he’s done with fighting, but is he telling the truth?


When tools go missing from the shed, the travellers are the first suspects. Iris’s brother, Sam, warns her to stay away from Trick; he’s dangerous, but Iris can no longer blindly follow her brother’s advice. He’s got secrets of his own, and she’s not sure he can be trusted himself.

Infinite Sky is a family story about betrayal and loyalty, and love.

My Review:

My Rating: 4/5

Infinite Sky was so emotional, I actually teared up towards the end.

Some reviewers have pointed out that it can be a little vague in places, but I think that’s how it’s meant to come across.

There was an innocence to Iris that was refreshing after reading YA novels that are about older teens.

In some ways it reminded me of The Fault in Our Stars by John Green. Not just because it contains death, but there was a spark in this novel similar to TFiOS.

The prejudice that the gypsies received in Infinite Sky was totally unfair. It wasn’t his fault! Forgive him!

 Something is holding me back from rating this five stars, I have to go with what I feel is right so four stars it is! I’m sure that I’ll be thinking of Infinite Sky ling after I return it to the library. This is the kind of book I’ve been waiting to read for a while.

The cover is prettier in hardback than digital. I mean, obviously right? It’s so simple and sweet and I LOVE IT!

Overall, Infinite Sky is a really sweet, sometimes vague novel that you should read if you want to cry.

**On a side note, I’m going to lend it to my Mum and Nan because I think they’ll enjoy it too!**

About Author:

cjflood Website | Goodreads | Twitter

Hi, I’m Chelsey. I grew up in Derby, and now live in Bristol. I like fire and the sea and trees.

3 thoughts on “‘Infinite Sky’ by C.J.Flood – Book Review

  1. Pingback: Stacking the Shelves #11 / The Sunday Post #10 | ReadingToTheStarsAndBack

  2. I agree about the cover – it’s gorgeous. I love the books that make you still think about them long after you’ve finished reading them. Infinity Sky sounds like a book I’d enjoy – thanks to your review it’s going on the to-read list. Thanks 🙂

Thanks for commenting! It means a lot :)

