‘The Rose Throne’ by Mette Ivie Harrison – Book Review

rose

Book Links: Goodreads | Amazon | B&N | Book Depository

The Rose Throne by Mette Ivie Harrison

Publish Date: May 14th 2013

Publisher: EgmontUSA

Genre: YA Fantasy / Romance

Source: NetGalley

Book Description:

Ailsbet loves nothing more than music; tall and red-haired, she’s impatient with the artifice and ceremony of her father’s court. Marissa adores the world of her island home and feels she has much to offer when she finally inherits the throne from her wise, good-tempered father. The trouble is that neither princess has the power–or the magic–to rule alone, and if the kingdoms can be united, which princess will end up ruling the joint land? For both, the only goal would seem to be a strategic marriage to a man who can bring his own brand of power to the throne. But will either girl be able to marry for love?

And can either of these two princesses, rivals though they have never met, afford to let the other live?

My Review:

3 out of 5 Goodreads Stars

The word that I would use to describe The Rose Throne would be bland. And that sounds horrible because I know how much work authors put into their creation. But, I have to be honest.

I couldn’t connect with either of the princesses, they just seemed so distant and emotionless.

The Taweyr and Neweyr was cool but confusing. I’m not sure if I like the gender-specific magic, it would have been more interesting if women had the killing and the violence magic and then men had the life magic instead. 

The romance was certainly not different. It was instant. It was cliché. It was doomed. But not doomed. Yeah, I know right?

To be honest, when I read the synopsis I thought it would be kinda like a chick – flick but with fantasy and princesses.

I liked the idea of The Rose Throne, otherwise I wouldn’t have requested it, but it didn’t deliver.

Overall, if you’re looking for a fantasy novel some magic thrown in then I would suggest picking it up because some parts of this book were really good. For instance, I can’t fault Harrison’s writing style. It flows together perfectly. So…perfect writing, bland plot. I would read another book by Harrison if it had some good reviews by bloggers I trusted, but probably not any more from this series.

[Special thanks to NetGalley and EgmontUSA for providing me with a review copy of this book in return for an honest review.]

About Author:

mette Goodreads | Website | Twitter

My name is pronounced “Metty” like my mother’s “Betty.” It is Danish, and we were all named after ancestors. I guess by the time they got to number nine (out of eleven), it was getting tricky. So I got the funny Danish name no one knew how to prounounce. In Denmark, it should be “meta” like “metaphysical.” It’s from the Greek for “pearl.” And no, it’s not short for anything. Not even Mediterannean.


I now live in Utah with my husband and 5 children, ages 5 to 14. I write during nap time, or at 4 in the morning, or while the broccoli for dinner is burning. Whenever I get a chance. I love to write the kind of books that I love to read. And I love to discover what is going to happen next, just like a reader would. I also do some racing in triathlon.

Thanks for commenting! It means a lot :)

