Book Review: Border Bride by Amanda Scott

border brideBook Links: Goodreads | Amazon

Border Bride by Amanda Scott

Publish Date: March 26th 2013  (first published 1990)

Publisher: Open Road

Genre: Adult Historical Romance

Source: NetGalley

Book Description:

As Mary, Queen of Scots, languishes in the Tower of London as a prisoner of her cousin, Queen Elizabeth, war tears Scotland apart. To save her beloved homeland, a proud Highland beauty named Mary Kate MacPherson must wage her own battle when she’s forced into wedlock with a knight, Sir Adam Douglas, from the barbaric borderland of Tornary. 

Even as she succumbs to her seductive husband’s sensual demands, Mary Kate vows never to give him her heart. She will belong to no man. But Adam burns with something deeper than desire. Sworn to carry out a long-awaited revenge, he won’t rest until he has vanquished his enemies.

Accused of treason, the last thing he expects is to lose his heart to the woman he’s determined to tame but never to love: his own wife.

My Review:

4 out of 5 Goodreads Stars

I can’t believe that it took me so long to pick up this book! I requested it in … and kept putting it off, as I tend to do with ebooks, but was pleasantly surprised when I found that I enjoyed it!

The first chapter was a bit long in the beginning but then Adam comes in and then it got good! He was a strapping Scotsman who had a temper on him. Nevertheless, I fell in love. When Mary Kate finds out that Adam wants to marry her, she is sure that she will never submit to him as most Scotswomen did to their husbands. Mary Kate was a fiery character, and that my friend, I enjoyed.

As a result of her bold nature, she found herself being punished in more ways than one. But it was true that they shared a chemistry together.

But when Adam’s cousin came into the mix, phew! Ladies and gentlemen, hold onto your whiskers! She was the worst! I truly hated her! The author gradually introduced her and made you dislike the very mention of her name! I was so irritated by her. But in the end, she and Mary Kate became sort of friends and all was well.

I also liked how the author added snippets of real history inside this book, so that it wasn’t just a romance novel. At the time, the Queen of Scots, was in the Tower of London as a prisoner because of Queen Elizabeth. At one point, Adam was accused of treason!

I shan’t tell you the outcome, you’ll just have to read it for yourself.

Overall, this was a great read! Loved the character of Mary Kate and thought she was easy to like. Adam I fell in love with. Although he could be a bit possessive at times. The author made me care about these characters, I was upset when they were upset, I was happy when they were happy…enjoyed it immensely!

[Thanks to NetGalley and Open Road for providing me with an ecopy of this book in return for an honest review.]

Thought I’d enter the original cover too. Personally, I like this one more than the newer one.

origingal

About Author: 

scott Website | Goodreads

Scotland has fascinated me for as long as I’ve known that the country existed, which was probably my early childhood. My ancestors on both sides came from Scotland, the first ones from the Scottish Borders in the mid- to late-18 century. My great-great-great grandfather, Judge Andrew Scott, is considered to be the first “Supreme” Court justice in Arkansas. His brother, John Scott, as territorial representative and then first U.S. senator for Missouri, authored the statute enacted by Congress in 1819 that cut off the southern end of Missouri to form the territory John Scott called Arkansas. Then, in a fit of apparent nepotism, he prevailed upon President Monroe to appoint his younger brother, Andrew, as Arkansas Territory’s first territorial judge. Monroe later appointed Andrew the first Arkansas State Superior Court judge. My brother is a Superior Court judge today in California.

My mother was a Douglas descendant, and we also have Logans, Jamisons, Fergusons, and a host of other Scots in our various lines. My Scott grandfather loved family history and told me stories culled from our own from the time I was small, so writing about Scotland came naturally to me. I began with the 16th century, then moved back to the medieval period and am now moving forward again. Although I’ve written a number of books set in the Highlands and have ancestors who were Fergusons from Galloway or Perth and Jamisons from Clan Gunn and the Isles of Orkney, most of my Scottish ancestors hail from the Borders. I tell people I have horse thieves hanging from every branch of the family tree.

I love everything about Scotland and find much of it that seems magical.

[Taken from an interview with USA Today. Click HERE to read on. ]

Thanks for commenting! It means a lot :)

