Book Review: Crewel by Gennifer Albin

crewel

Book Links: Goodreads | Amazon | B&N | Book Depository

Crewel (Crewel Word #1) by Gennifer Albin

Publish Date: October 16th 2012

Publisher: Farrar, Straus and Giroux

Genre: YA Dystopian/ Sci-Fi

Source: Bought

Book Description:

Enter a tangled world of secrets and intrigue where a girl is in charge of other’s destinies, but not her own.

Sixteen-year-old Adelice Lewys has always been special. When her parents discover her gift—the ability to weave the very fabric of reality—they train her to hide it. For good reason, they don’t want her to become a Spinster — one of the elite, beautiful, and deadly women who determine what people eat, where they live, how many children they have, and even when they die.

Thrust into the opulent Western Coventry, Adelice will be tried, tested and tempted as she navigates the deadly politics at play behind its walls.  Now caught in a web of lies and forbidden romance, she must unravel the sinister truth behind her own unspeakable power.  Her world is hanging by a thread, and Adelice, alone, can decide to save it — or destroy it.

My Review:

4 out 5 Goodreads Stars

I have been waiting for so long to read this book! And I finally did! While reading Crewel, I was worried that my expectation where too high and that it wouldn’t be as good as I hoped it would, but in truth, there was only a few things that I didn’t like about it J

I thought that the Looms where very vague. It didn’t really explain how they worked. I mean, I know that they can kill people, or save people, but how do they work? How can you make someone fade away by taking away a thread from a machine? It was a bit dreamlike. But, I guess it was supposed to be J

(You can tell I’m a teenager, I just need an answer for everything!)

I just loved the originality Crewel. It’s true that a lot of books have kinda the same story line, but this one was published first. So there!

The romance in Crewel was kinda…flat. First off, Adelice had a relationship with Josten. Josten I LIKED! He was a servant to the Spinster’s and generally helped around, he seemed normal. But then Adelice starts to like this other guy Erik, who is creepy and some old woman liked him already. But nevertheless, Adelice kisses them both and I dread to think of what will happen in the  romance area of the second book.

Other than the romance, I really enjoyed Crewel! The descriptions were out of this world (sometimes, literally) and I would like to read the second book because I had QUESTIONS! The ending was nicely left open, (although vague, obviously I like this word today).

Book Trailer 🙂

About Author:

gennifer Website | Goodreads | Twitter

I like coffee. A lot. Writing gives me time to go get a cup without my kids. I like books as much as I like coffee, but it is easier to read with children hanging on you than drink coffee due to the threat of third degree burns. That’s why coffee gets top billing in my intro: its unattainability.

I hold a Masters in English with a specialization in 18th century women’s studies. While this is a highly marketable area of expertise, I stay home with my kids, which means my 3 year-old son uses correct grammar and doesn’t burn down the house.

I have a ridiculously supportive husband who dreams of being included on a book jacket: “The author lives in Kansas with her husband, two children, and a Tuesday cat.”

One thought on “Book Review: Crewel by Gennifer Albin

  1. Pingback: The Sunday Post [12] (Weekly Wrap-Up) | ReadingToTheStarsAndBack

Thanks for commenting! It means a lot :)

