Book Review: First Light (Project Five Fifteen #1) by Samantha Summers + Giveaway

ProjectFifeFifteenTourBannerYou can find the tour schedule for this book HERE. Hosted by: Xpresso Book Tours.

First Light by Samantha Summers

Series: Project Five Fifteen #1

Publication: May 12th 2012

Genre: YA Romantic Thriller   

Book Description: FirstLight

A government experiment. Sixteen teenage boys on the run. An innocent young girl caught in the middle. When Ronnie Rose meets the handsome and alluring Kalen Smith, she can tell there’s something he’s hiding – something dangerous. But in trying to uncover his secret, Ronnie is plunged into a terrifying world she isn’t prepared for… and the consequences could be deadly. Can we choose who we fall in love with?

Book Links: Goodreads | Amazon | B&N

My Review:

4/5 Goodreads Stars

Woah! This book was packed full of action! Loads of assassin stuff, but at the same time, normal things that I could relate to.

Veronica, Ronnie, has just lost her Dad. At the funeral she notices a boy who she has never met before. She sees him a couple more times, and they start to talk and get to know one another.

Now, Kalen, is an assassin, trained since he was four to become an emotionless shell. A few years ago, he found out that he and his fellow assassins were supposed to be killed at fifteen. So he rounded them up and they ran.

Let’s talk characters:

Kalen reminded me of a certain sparkly vampire we all know and (sometimes) love. Edward Cullen. Kalen was so protective of Ronnie. And seeing as he’s been trained to be an assassin, he can run really fast and jump around buildings and stuff, Ronnie is awed by his DANGER. I ask you.  He even left, like Edward did. Kalen left because “it’s too dangerous for me to be around you.” Sound familiar?

Ronnie is, obviously, quite depressed about him leaving.  A couple of months later, Ronnie became friendly with this guy, but is always thinking of Kalen when she’s with him. (Like that Katy Perry song, “’Cos when I’m with him I am thinking of you…thinking of you…la la la la…ect ect” )

And the award for most infuriating character goes to….

RACHEL! This is Ronnie’s sister. Who doesn’t like ANYTHING that Ronnie does and now that their father has died, Rachel has to take care of her baby sister and spoon feed her. Basically. She was vile. And I know most of it was down to her boyfriend (just get married, LAZY!) and his influence but DAYUM! She was infuriating!

Ronnie, the main character, was relatable. She’s just a girl whose father died and now she’s trying to cope with that. She doesn’t want to be suffocated by her family who have SUDDENLY decided that she’s a child. I liked her. Plus, she had red hair. (I have a bit of a thing for characters with red hair.)

Overall, I liked it! Despite the Edward parts. That might not have been intentional, it just came across that way J Even though I know that First Light has a sequel, I think it would still work as a stand-alone. Although, with action books, you can span them into a long saga. (Like Alex Rider!) Or, seeing as Kalen has other ‘brother’ assassins, there could be separate stories about all of them! I’d love to read Ace’s story! Or Laith’s….

Giveaway:

2 winners: each winner gets a signed copy of both books and a T-Shirt.

photo-22

a Rafflecoptor Giveaway

As You Were by Samantha Summers

Series: Project Five Fifteen #2
Publication: December 14th 2012
Genre: YA Romantic Thriller

Book Links: Amazon | Goodreads | B&N

AsYouWere

 Book Description:

For every choice, there is a consequence.Ronnie and Kalen are finally together, living their life in secret under the radar of the people who want Kalen dead. But when a visit from an old friend sends Kalen away on a rescue mission, Ronnie finds herself plunged back into the world of Project Five Fifteen quicker than she ever thought possible.It’s fast becoming clear The Agency will never give up their hunt for the boys, and a betrayal closer to home starts a chain reaction that will change everything. Now, caught in a deadly web of lies and deceit, Ronnie is forced to question who she can trust; even the person she once trusted most.As enemies close in, Kalen’s past threatens to destroy the happiness they sacrificed so much for, and it’s only a matter of time before the ultimate choice must be made…

Excerpt:

‘Are you okay?’ I asked Nash.

‘No. I’m not okay. It’s all too coincidental to me that he has this mission to send K on, just when we were about to leave. I don’t like coincidences.’

If it were possible, my appetite dissolved even more. I looked at Ace, trying to guess what he was thinking. His face was unreadable.

‘We get out, then,’ Ace said eventually.

‘K has already told me to do just that.’

This was news to me. I felt a flash of anger that I put down to not being kept in the loop. ‘What do you mean?’ I asked impatiently.

‘K’s orders are to leave here tonight. He couldn’t tell either of you, because let’s face it you’ve both been acting a little emotionally today. So, no, I’m not okay, I have a lot on my mind.’

‘When?’ asked Ace.

‘Midnight. Victor will need to think we’ve all gone to bed and then I’ll get Ronnie and meet you down here. Hopefully no one will be aware we’ve gone until morning. K didn’t tell us to leave immediately because he didn’t want to arouse any suspicion. Hopefully we’re being over cautious and we can apologise to Victor for our rudeness at a later date.’

‘What about the video surveillance?’ I asked as I pictured the cameras I’d seen scattered all over the villa.

‘I’ve been helping Victor with his security the last week. Using the time to study every inch of the Babineaux grounds. I’ll sort it. You’re gonna have to start trusting us, Ronnie,’ Nash added, holding me with a steady gaze. ‘Now K isn’t here we’re all you’ve got.’

I lifted my chin. ‘When should I be ready?’

‘I’ll come for you just before midnight. Make sure your bag’s packed – small pack only. Remain under your covers, dressed and ready to go.’

Though my stomach was opposed to the idea, I forced more food down my throat, knowing it might be a while before my next meal. We spent the rest of the evening in relative silence. Occasionally Nash would say something quietly in another language to Ace and each time it caused my panic to swell a little more inside me.

About Author:
Born in London, an only child with an overactive imagination, Sam spent much of her childhood telling ghost stories to her younger cousins and dreaming about far away places. She graduated university with a BA in marketing, but it wasn’t long before her passion for storytelling and travel got the better of her. She currently lives in Sydney, Australia, where you’ll probably find her hidden away in the corner of a park somewhere – writing, reading, dreaming or watching movies on her iPad. She loves everything spy and assassin and has a slightly unhealthy obsession with Star Wars, mainly Darth Vader.
3 thoughts on “Book Review: First Light (Project Five Fifteen #1) by Samantha Summers + Giveaway

  1. Pingback: The Sunday Post [12] (Weekly Wrap-Up) | ReadingToTheStarsAndBack

Thanks for commenting! It means a lot :)

