Review: The Elite by Kiera Cass

eliete

Book Links: Goodreads | Amazon | B&N | Book Depository

The Elite (The Selection #2) by Kiera Cass

Publish Date: April 23rd 2013

Publisher: Harper Teen

Genre: YA / Romance / Dystopian

Source: Preordered, baby YEAH!

Book Description:

Thirty-five girls came to the palace to compete in the Selection. All but six have been sent home. And only one will get to marry Prince Maxon and be crowned princess of Illea.

America still isn’t sure where her heart lies. When she’s with Maxon, she’s swept up in their new and breathless romance, and can’t dream of being with anyone else. But whenever she sees Aspen standing guard around the palace, and is overcome with memories of the life they planned to share. With the group narrowed down to the Elite, the other girls are even more determined to win Maxon over—and time is running out for America to decide.

Just when America is sure she’s made her choice, a devastating loss makes her question everything again. And while she’s struggling to imagine her future, the violent rebels that are determined to overthrow the monarchy are growing stronger and their plans could destroy her chance at any kind of happy ending.

My Review:

[May contain spoilers if you haven’t read the first book. Read at own risk!!!!]

4/5 Goodreads Stars

One Word: Team Aspen.

Ahhhrg! Finally! I’ve waited a WHOLE YEAR to get my hands on this! So, so, so, so, so, excited to read and review! Did any see my pictures on Twitter? I went a bit mad and spammed poor Kiera 😛 She deserved it, she wrote the book! ha!

OKAY! Deep breaths. In and out. In and out. And write the review. Calmly.

I’ll go through the points that I didn’t like first.

America, make up your mind, you silly girl! All through the book, she kept flitting from one boy to the next. Maxon then Aspen, Aspen then Maxon. Just choose already!  **cough ASPEN cough **

I love Kiera’s writing, I could read it all day, but at this point, I’ve had enough. I think the series could be over by now in just two books. There where parts of The Elite that weren’t necessary and could be chopped down.

Nevertheless, I will patiently wait for the third book to come out. Because I do actually want to know what will happen.

Other than the fact that America was so indecisive, and that the series could be over in two books, I really loved this book!

Celeste wasn’t as vile as she was in the first book, but Kriss has started to get on my nerves. I was so into the characters that when America was jealous, so was I. When she saw Kriss and Maxon getting closer and closer I felt her frustration, her jealousy.

Although she was doing exactly the same thing with Aspen. First she was kissing Maxon, then she kissed Aspen…she’ll catch something if that goes on much longer.

So at the end of the book, there are only four girls left.

·         Celeste

·         Kriss

·         America

·         Elsie

The book doesn’t really mention Elsie. She’s just a spare part. (She’ll probably end up winning. That’ll tell me, wont it?)

Maxon won’t choose Celeste. She’s just for the public. So that leaves Kriss and America. I literally have no idea who will get Maxon. As these are the first books I’ve read of Kiera’s I’m not sure if she likes a happy ending or now. But what is her idea of a happy ending? Maxon or Aspen?

I will bore you some more and give my reasons for liking Aspen more than Maxon.

Ahem.

She’s known him forever. They know each other like the back of their hand, (as they often mention to each other), he doesn’t run a country. He’s a guard with a steady job. They will be HAPPY!

That’s basically.

Overall, loved it but took off a star for America’s indecisiveness and the fact that this series could potentially be over. Kiera’s writing is just brilliant and so easy to read.

 About Author:

kiera Goodreads | Website | Twitter

100 Things I Love:

Being married. Cake. The smell of Autumn. Motherhood. Books. Elephants. Back rubs. On demand movies. Actually going out to movies. Faith. Cinnamon rolls. My family. Butterflies. When my kitchen is clean. Crayons. Pink. Tote bags. Dancing. Organizing via color coordination. That my wedding dress was tea length, not floor. Baking. My house. Writing utensils. Paper. India. The sound of water. Making videos. Buttons. The word Episcopalian. Making people laugh. Layering clothes. British accents. Pinterest. Animation. Fireworks. The smell of the Ocean. My wedding rings. Read more HERE!

One thought on “Review: The Elite by Kiera Cass

  1. Pingback: The Sunday Post [12] (Weekly Wrap-Up) | ReadingToTheStarsAndBack

Thanks for commenting! It means a lot :)

