Review: Shift by Em Bailey

shift

Book Links: Goodreads | Amazon | B&N | Book Depository

Publish Date: May 22nd 2012

Publisher: EgmontUSA

Genre: YA Thriller

Source: Library

Rating: 5.0/5.0

Book Description:

Olive Corbett is not crazy. Not anymore.

She obediently takes her meds and stays under the radar at school. After “the incident,” Olive just wants to avoid any more trouble, so she knows the smartest thing is to stay clear of the new girl who is rumored to have quite the creepy past.

But there’s no avoiding Miranda Vaile. As mousy Miranda edges her way into the popular group, right up to the side of queen bee Katie – and pushes the others right out – only Olive seems to notice that something strange is going on.

Something almost . . . parasitic. Either Olive is losing her grip on reality, or Miranda Vaile is stealing Katie’s life.

But who would ever believe crazy Olive, the girl who has a habit of letting her imagination run away with her? And what if Olive is the next target?

A chilling psychological thriller that tears through themes of identity, loss, and toxic friendship, Shift will leave readers guessing until the final pages.

My Review:

Describe this Book in One Word: Chilling.

I read this book at NIGHT. NEVER DO THAT! Totally freaked myself out. But I do that anyway, so it was that Shift was super-freaky…I’m just an easy to scare kinda girl.

I think part of the reason Shift is so chilling is that there are people like Miranda in real life that act like her, slowing sucking the life out of you.

By the end of this book, I had no idea of what Miranda was. Was she a shifter? A figment of Olive’s imagination? Or just a normal, but bitchy, girl? I liked that the ending wasn’t totally explained. And that it wasn’t exactly a happy ending either.

I seriously couldn’t put this book down. Like I said, it was late at night that I finished this book because I HAD to get to the end. I HAD to see what Olive would do.

There was a sweet element of romance in Shift that only really came out in the end of the novel, but nevertheless it was there 🙂

At the beginning of the novel, I kinda hated Katie because she was mean to Olive and generally didn’t give me any reason to like her. But before she died, I really started to like her and felt sorry for her.

Olive knew that she had done things wrong in her life and could be mean and calculating, but she was sorry for what she had done to her family and was truly trying to make things work.

Overall I loved it! Think I may have to buy a copy for myself 😛 I recommend it to everyone that likes things unexplained, and a touch of paranormal.

About Author:

Goodreads

Em Bailey is an Australian living in Germany where, despite having been a vegetarian for many years, she now enjoys the occasional Wurst. Em used to be a new-media designer for a children’s television production house and is now a full-time author. Shift is her first YA novel, although she has written a number of books for children under the name Meredith Badger.

When she’s not writing, Em is generally getting lost, losing stuff, reading, hanging out with her friends and family, and listening to Radiolab podcasts. Like Olive, she doesn’t like leggings that look like jeans, but has no problem with tofu schnitzels.

2 thoughts on “Review: Shift by Em Bailey

  1. Pingback: Stacking the Shelves [15] and The Sunday Post [13] | ReadingToTheStarsAndBack

Thanks for commenting! It means a lot :)

