Review + Giveaway: The Color Keepers by Catriona Crehan + Author Interview

the color

Book Links: Goodreads | Amazon Kindle

The Color Keepers by Catriona Crehan

Publish Date: May 1st 2013

Genre: YA Fantasy

Rating: 3.0/5.0

Book Description:

Hoping to have a good change and good ending to go with it, Emily, a 16- year-old girl from Ohio, has moved to sunny California.

Moving to a new town can be scary, especially a new school. So when Sam, the most popular kid there, looks her way, she can’t believe this is happening to her.

Everything seems to be working out fine. That is, until her mother buys an enchanted mirror by mistake.

Suddenly, Emily finds herself in a whole new world, full of talking animals, magic and more change than she was hoping for.

With the help of her new crush, Sam, and her annoyingly goofy 12-year-old brother James, Emily sets out to save their world and ours.

My Review:

First off I just want to say that I hate really dislike books when the main character introduces themselves. “Hello, I’m Charlie. I’m sixteen. I live in England.” It’s more like a Twitter bio, NOT how you would introduce yourself in real life. It’s a whole info-dump of stuff that we, the reader, don’t really want to know about in the first paragraph of the book.

It’s a personal thing. Moving on.

The Color Keepers is a very original book, full of fantasy elements with wicked queens, along with some romance. Emily is just a normal girl, leading a normal life, going to a normal school, when her Mother brings home a mirror for Emily’s room. On the first night that the mirror is in Emily’s room, she gets sucked into a world inside the mirror…

Some parts of this book where choppy and I had to re-read several passages to keep up.

During the book, I felt sorry for Emily’s little brother Jamie. I have a brother his age and I know how annoying they can get, but Emily was quite mean to him at times and constantly belittles him.

Let’s get Romantic…

There was a slight romance in The Color Keepers. Emily moved to a new school and met one of the popular kids called Sam. [This part annoyed me.] As soon as Emily laid her eyes on Sam, she went all gooey and wasn’t really sure why he was talking to her. It wasn’t even lunch and already Emily thinks she’s [quote] “falling in love.” Get a grip!

Overall, thought it was a very original novel with a proper “quest” included! Emily let the story down a little by being a little moody at times. (Teenagers!haha!lol!)

[Did anyone else get the Sam and Emily part? From Twilight? Dear Catriona, was this intentional? Are you a secret Twi-hard? Well, obviously I must be if I noticed that!]

Giveaway:

The author is giving away 5 ebook copies of this book! Just enter at the link below!

a Rafflecopter giveaway

My interview with Catriona!

1.What inspired The Color Keepers?

Actually, the inspiration stemmed from a dream I had back when I was only fifteen years old.

I had woken up after what I classified then, as a nightmare, but after I thought about it more, it made a REALLY cool story. So I thought if I started to write my dreams down it might form one big book. I took bits and pieces from a lot of my dreams, but the overall story was from that specific one 🙂

 2.How often do you write?

I write almost every day. I’m married and on top of my other job, I don’t really have a lot of time to write as much as I would like.

 3.Have you always enjoyed writing?

Yes, as a matter of fact, I was a songwriter before I started writing stories. I had been a singer/songwriter and was going to sign with “Interscope Records”. I ended up not going through with that process due to conflicting beliefs between myself and my managers. It must run in my family as my grandfather is the grammy award winning Latin recording artist, Alberto Vazquez. My mother is also book cover artist Phatpuppy Art 🙂 You can still hear my music and writing over at http://www.catiesings.com

4.Do you listen to music when you write? If so, what?

I listen to it occasionally. I use it to help me write emotional scenes or maybe battle sequences. However, I can’t listen to it too much, because the words get distracting and I lose my train of thought 🙂

 5.How long did it take to write The Color Keepers?

It was a very long process. I wrote the first draft in all of 3 months, but the rewrites as I matured became much more intricate. It ended up being something that took me 4 years to finish completely.

6. What kind of books do you like to read? Has this effected the type of books you like to write?

I love reading pretty much anything. The only things I can’t get into are any psychological thrillers. Reading different books definitely doesn’t effect my writing style though. I love reading a variety of different things… from “Fifty Shades of Grey” to “Lord of the Rings” so it doesn’t really apply.

7. If The Color Keepers was made into a movie, who would you cast as the main characters?

I love this question, I would definitely go with:

Hailee Steinfeld (True Grit) for the main character of Emily.

Her crush, one of our fighting heroes “Sam” would be played by Josh Hutcherson ( The Hunger Games).

Her goofy little brother, Asa Butterfield (Hugo).

Last but not least, the amazing Crow Queen, played by Liv Tyler!

8.Do you have any advice for aspiring authors out there?

Don’t let anyone tell you that you can’t do something! It’s all up to you! Write your heart out!

9. Would you like to say anything to your readers?

I really hope that you enjoy “The Color Keepers” and I hope to see you back again for any possible sequels and other endeavours 🙂

 10.And lastly, do you have any other exciting projects coming up?

I do! I am currently writing the sequel to “The Color Keepers” and am also working on something quite amazing ( don’t want to spoil it). It’s TOTALLY out of my comfort zone, so it could be a while before you see it! 🙂

 

About Author:

catriona

Goodreads | Website | Facebook | Twitter

A review copy of this book was given to me as part of the tour hosted by Girls *Heart* Books Tours.

Color Keepers Banner Tour

2 thoughts on “Review + Giveaway: The Color Keepers by Catriona Crehan + Author Interview

Thanks for commenting! It means a lot :)

