Review: Everblue (Mer Tales #1) by Brenda Pandos

everblue

Book Links: Goodreads | Amazon | B&N | Book Depository

Everblue (Mer Tales #1) by Brenda Pandos

Publish Date: March 22nd 2012

Publisher: Obsidian Mountain Publishing

Genre: YA Fantasy / Paranormal

Rating: 4.0/5.0

Book Description:

She wanted her life to change… he wanted his to stay the same.

Best friends share everything with each other. Or do they? Seventeen-year-old Ashlyn Frances Lanski is tired of her boring, single life. Spending time with her best friend Tatiana, dreaming about kissing Tatiana’s twin brother Fin, and swimming competitively are her only sanctuary. The girls plan to leave their drab lakeside town far behind for college. But when Tatchi fails to return home after a family emergency, and no one knows where the family has gone, Ash chooses to do something drastic to find them.

Ashlyn is about to discover what she’d thought to be true her whole life, wasn’t, and the truth, too fantastical to imagine. Secrets lurk beneath the deep blue waters of Lake Tahoe, secrets that will change Ashlyn’s life forever.

My Review:

[At time of this post being written, Everblue is free on Amazon. Click the link above to buy it!]

There’s something about mermaids and merman that just fascinates me, so when I saw the description for this book I wanted it! And obviously, I got it 🙂

Let’s just get straight down to the romance. Ash and the Fin, her best friends brother like each-other but have never told each other. This really gets on my nerves. For god’s sake KISS THE GIRL!

Ahem.

The romance in Everblue was kinda predictable. The author tried to make a few twists but it was nothing that I haven’t read before. (I read YA romance books all day, every day. Trust me!) So that side of it was very disappointing.

Everblue is really easy to read, once I’d started I just couldn’t put it down. Even though parts where predictable, I still wanted to know how the author would finish the book.

All through the book, I couldn’t help admiring the beautiful descriptions of the underwater universe. They totally sucked me in and made me believe I was with Fin and Tatiana, or Tatch. Actually, the night that I finished this book I watched Splash for the first time. (Tom Hanks, NOT Tom Daly.) Like I said, I love mermaids!

Overall, I could see where the romance was going, but the world was fascinating, the writing was superb and I can’t wait to read book two!

About Author:

brenda

Website | Goodreads | Twitter

Wife, Mother, Author, Computer Whisperer, Web/graphic designer,Chocolate connoisseur,Sister, Daughter, Aunt,Friend, Fun & Games Coordinator, Saved by Grace, Geek, Housekeeper, Laundress, Cook (occasionally), Chauffeur, Gardener, Nurse, and much more… not in that order.

One thought on “Review: Everblue (Mer Tales #1) by Brenda Pandos

Thanks for commenting! It means a lot :)

