Review: Tristis Manor (The Never Chronicles #1.5) by J.R. Wagner

tristis manor

Book Links: Goodreads | Amazon | B&N

Tristis Manor (The Never Chronicles #1.5) by J.R. Wagner

Publish Date: March 20th 2013

Publisher: Solomon Caw Publishing

Genre: Fantasy / Mystery

Rating: 5.0/5.0

Book Description:

Margaret lives in a constant state of fear. Fear of her mother, whose constant state of anger and unwillingness to speak of Margaret’s past have long since pushed Margaret away. Fear of disappointing her father should he ever discover the events of that day. Most of all, Margaret lives in fear of her abuser’s return. Margaret turns to self-harm to cope with her pain and fear. Only when her self-inflicted injuries bring her near death does she realize she has the power and the support from an unlikely place to stand up to her fears and believe in herself again.

Tristis Manor is a novella from The Never Chronicles, an epic fantasy series.

My Review:

[I’m not part of the Blog Tour. This is just me sharing my thoughts on a novel that I recently read.]

How do I write a review for this one? This book was amazing! As it was a short book, I read it in one sitting. I just couldn’t put it down.

The writing style of Wagner is just incredible. I could read books by him all the time.

When I requested to read Tristis Manor, I didn’t realise it was part of a series. You don’t need to read the first book to understand this one, but now that I’ve read the synopsis for the first book I think I’ll just have to check it out thoroughly.

I tried to explain this novella to someone in real life, (Yes, people do know me IRL y’know.) and I totally failed. Let’s try again! It’ll be a rough outline because I don’t want to give away spoilers.

Margaret is nine years old. It’s clear from the start of the book that she is scared of her mother. You can tell that there is also something else that she’s frightened of. And then she learns that her mother is pregnant. Obviously, poor Margaret is terrified for the baby. Her father is a civil servant and travels away from home a lot so he doesn’t know how his wife treats his daughter. Soon after, Margaret has a fever, and he rushes back home to be with her.

I honestly can’t say more than that, and I know it’s a rubbish description of this awesome book. It is dark in places…okay…most of the book is dark but Margaret is such a loveable little girl and her father really loves her so you find some happiness in the book.

There is a slight supernatural element to this book that I wasn’t expecting, (like I said, I hadn’t read the synopsis for the first book.) but it fitted well into the novel and didn’t make me think that it was totally out of place.

Overall…read it. If you don’t mind dark and sometimes upsetting scenes. I was cringing at the fingernail part. And then crying because of how young Margaret is in the book.

About Author:

wagnerGoodreads | Website Twitter

J. R. Wagner was born in West Chester, Pennsylvania, during a blizzard. The snow made travel by car impossible, so his father called an ambulance when his mother went into labor. The ambulance became stuck at the bottom of their home’s driveway, prompting the dispatch of a fire truck, which towed the ambulance to the hospital where he was born.

Maybe it was this experience that destined J.R. to love adventure.

A competitive cyclist, triathlete, mountain biker, and adventure racer, he once received a medal for saving a woman’s life during the kayaking section of an adventure race.

J.R. drafted his first story, a sequel to Return of the Jedi, when he was ten years old. A self-proclaimed Star Wars geek, he had lofty aspirations of working with George Lucas on filming the project. In 1990, he began filming his version of The Lord of the Rings in his parents’ basement, but the plug was pulled after he nearly burned down the house. Since then, J.R. has written two full-length screenplays and a thriller novel.

After graduating with a kinesiology degree from Arizona State University, J.R. returned to Pennsylvania, where he took up writing once again.

He began writing Exiled while vacationing in Maine.

2 thoughts on “Review: Tristis Manor (The Never Chronicles #1.5) by J.R. Wagner

Thanks for commenting! It means a lot :)

