Review: Aberrant by Ruth Silver + Giveaway + Author Interview

Aberrant Banner

Book Links: Goodreads | Amazon Kindle | Amazon Paperback

Aberrant by Ruth Silver

Publish Date: April 28th 2013

Self – Published

Genre: YA Dystopian

Rating: 3.0/5.0

Tour Hosted by: Girls *Heart* Books

aberrantBook Description:

In the future Dystopian society of Cabal, the government instills equality for all and offers its citizens the perfect system. There is food, shelter and jobs for everyone. The one requirement is to follow the rules without question, including the government’s match in marriage and “The Day of the Chosen”, a lottery that randomly selects families to conceive children as natural means hasn’t existed in generations. Following her eighteenth birthday, Olivia Parker accepts her requirement to marry her childhood best friend, Joshua Warren, and is eager to start her work assignment and new life when it all comes abruptly to an end as she’s arrested and thrown in prison. The only crime committed, her existence. Olivia is unlike the rest of the world born not from “The Day of the Chosen.” The truth haunts the government and puts her life in grave danger as one simple fact would destroy the perfect system.

With Joshua’s help, Olivia breaks free of prison and is forced on the run. Together they set out to find the promised rebel town in search of a new home and new life together. Their situation seems less than promising as they reach the town of Haven. New rules and customs must be adhered to in order to stay. Leaving would mean most certain death in the large expanse of the Gravelands. Time is running out as the government mounts an attack to destroy Olivia and bury her secret with her. Thrown into a world unlike their own, they must quickly adapt to survive.

My Review:

While reading Aberrant, I found that it reminded me of Matched by Ally Condie, and in other placed Eve by Anna Carey. The government has been lying to the population. (Just like most other dystopian novels.) They control what they eat, where they work, who they marry, how many children they have, things that we take for granted.

Aberrant started off really well, I was interested in the characters and wanted to see where they ended up…but by half-way through I wasn’t really taking it in. I would much rather have read about Jacqueline, the girl who got taken away from her mother when she was a baby, then read about Olive who didn’t really know anything about the world.

I know it’s not Olive’s fault that she doesn’t know what Christmas is, or what a kiss is, but most of the dystopian books centre around the same character. It’s never a bad-ass girl who’s lived in the ‘real-world’ for ages and knows the ropes, is it? (Okay, in some books, yes.)

Anyway, my point is, it’s not Olive’s fault. It’s the governments fault. I get so frustrated with these fictional governments. I don’t do well with authority figures. (Obviously!)

Let’s talk Romance…

The romance between Joshua and Olive was very innocent. Joshua has no idea what a kiss is, let alone sex. (Olive does because she read books about the olden days. It wasn’t 50 Shades of Grey was it???)

Olive has always loved Joshua, and is thrilled when they get paired together to be married. (Which is good because no insta-lurve.)

Now, here’s the interesting bit. Olive’s mother conceived Olive naturally, so the government is after Olive to run tests on her so see if she can convince naturally too. (WITH DA SEX, BABY WHOO!) The rest of the population can’t conceive, they are part of a lottery system that gives them babies whenever it’s their turn.  (The babies are ‘born’ in labs.)

I think that the second book is going to be very interesting as it explores this, because there’s also a war going on and obviously, Olive is going to try and get preggers…maybe. We’ll see what Ruth thinks.

Overall, first quarter…GREAT! Second and third quarters…YEAH, OKAY. COOL. Last part…YEAH! THIS IS INTERESTING AGAIN!

I would recommend Aberrant so readers who enjoyed Eve, Matched and Crewel as they contain similar subjects.  

Check out my interview with Ruth!

What inspired Aberrant?

I love writing and was reading a lot of YA Dystopian novels. I wanted to create my own world and drew inspiration from many factors. One of those included the current economic state (which shaped the society of Cabal).

 How often do you write?

When I get into a writing phase, I write daily. Sometimes I can’t write (because I’m editing or promoting my novel) but it’s never because I don’t want to. There’s just not enough hours in a day and I need several hours when I’m ready to write.

 How long did it take to write Aberrant?

I started writing Aberrant sometime in 2011. I can’t remember the exact date. I think it was in the late fall or winter. I took a break from it for a few months and then eventually finished it by the summer of 2012.

Have you always enjoyed writing?

I started writing poetry when I was in high school. I was reading a lot in high school and college (both fan fiction and novels) and by my Freshman year in college I was penning stories full time while going to school.

Do you listen to music when you write? 

Nope. I find that I need complete silence when I write.

What kind of books do you like to read? Has this effected the type of books you like to write?

I love the young adult genre. YA novels are often faster paced and not heavy with details that the story doesn’t need. My specific favorite genre in YA is Dystopian, which is why I’ve written Aberrant because it’s the type of story I’d love to read.

If Aberrant was made into a movie, who would you cast as the main characters?

I would cast Elle Fanning as Olivia Parker and Dylan Sprayberry as Joshua Warren.

 Do you have any advice for aspiring authors out there?

Stick with writing and write as much and as often as you can. Carry a tablet or notebook with you and scribble down stories when in your free time. Don’t be afraid to let others read your work. It can be tough to accept constructive criticism but remember it will make you a better writer.

Would you like to say anything to your readers?

Thank you for reading my novel and I hope you enjoyed it as much as I loved writing it!

And lastly, do you have any other exciting projects coming up?

I have quite a few projects that I’m working on. Aberrant is a trilogy and the next book in the series, Moirai, should be released in 2014. I’ve also been writing a YA fantasy novel, Orenda, that I hope to finish sometime later this year or in 2014.

Giveaway:

$25 Amazon Giftcard

Have a character named after you in the sequel!

Signed copy of Aberrant!

a Rafflecoptor Giveaway

About Author:

ruth

Website | Goodreads | Twitter | Facebook

Ruth Silver first began writing poetry as a teenager and reading heaps of fan fiction in her free time. She has written under three unique pseudo names and penned well over a hundred stories.

Her love of writing, led her on an adventure in 2007 to Melbourne, Australia. Silver enjoys reading YA novels and sharing her favorite books with other readers. She runs her own book blog and also enjoys photography and traveling.

Her favorite YA genre is a mix of Dystopian & Fantasy which is evident in the upcoming release of her latest book, Aberrant. Slated for release April 2013 by Lazy Day Publishing, it is the first in a trilogy.

EXCERPT:

We rounded the corner and my eyes caught sight of a line of young men stretching around council hall, extending for blocks. “What’s going on over there?” I asked.

 Landon’s face perked up, a hint of a smile playing on his lips, “they’re here for you, Olivia.”

 “Me?” I felt nervous and swallowed the bile rising in my throat.

 Landon patted my back, as if he had the ability to reassure me. His touch was repulsive. I pulled away slightly from his grasp, my gaze still attached to the hundreds of young men lining up along the edge of the building and pushed back down into the street. “They’re submitting their applications to date you.”

 “You’re joking?” My eyes wide and mouth agape, I couldn’t believe this was happening.

 “This is because of Joshua yesterday, isn’t it?” It had to be the reason they found it necessary to punish me.

 Landon sighed. He seemed agitated with me, short-tempered. “We’ve told you, Olivia, you can’t be with Joshua.”

I rolled my eyes, “yes and you’ve also told me I have three years to decide. What’s all this!” I gestured towards the young men as I pushed them aside to walk through the main entrance, they were in my way.

“Hey! No cutting in line,” one of the young men yelled before his voice faltered off realizing I wasn’t there to apply. “Are you Olivia?” His voice echoed against the building as he took another step, further inching towards the foyer.

“It’s none of your damned business!” I shouted back, my eyes glaring as I knocked Landon hard with my elbow. I knew it wouldn’t win me any brownie points but I didn’t care. I was beyond pissed. My feet clanked over the marble flooring. In the center of the room a table had been set up where the young men were fast approaching, one after another. “You’re wasting your time,” I called back to the woman hosting the event as she recorded their information in an oversized book.

“This way,” Landon escorted me away from the line of bachelors towards the open door.

“Please, come in,” the older wiry-haired woman gestured us inside and shut the door promptly behind us. All the noise and commotion from the main foyer disappeared inside the room.

Advertisements

3 thoughts on “Review: Aberrant by Ruth Silver + Giveaway + Author Interview

  1. Pingback: Stacking the Shelves [19] & The Sunday Post [15] | ReadingToTheStarsAndBack

Thanks for commenting! It means a lot :)

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s