Review: Hero of My Heart by Megan Frampton

hero of my heart

Book Links: Goodreads | Amazon | B&N

Hero of My Heart by Megan Frampton

Publish Date: April 8th 2013

Publisher: Loveswept

Genre: Adult Historical Romance

Source: NetGalley

Rating: 5.0/5.0

Book Depository:

When Mary Smith’s corrupt, debt-ridden brother drags her to a seedy pub to sell her virtue to the highest bidder, Alasdair Thornham leaps to the rescue. Of course the marquess is far from perfect husband material. Although he is exceedingly handsome, with a perfect, strong body, chiseled jaw, and piercing green eyes, Alasdair is also too fond of opium, preferring delirium to reality. Still, he has come to Mary’s aid, and now she intends to return the favor. She will show him that he is not evil, just troubled.

Mary was a damsel in need of a hero, but Alasdair’s plan is shortsighted. He never foresaw her desire to save him from himself. Alasdair is quite at home in his private torment, until this angel proves that a heart still beats in his broken soul. The devil may have kept her from hell, but will Mary’s good intentions lead them back to the brink—or to heaven in each other’s arms?

My Review:

It’s no secret that I love historical romances so when I saw this on NetGalley, I jumped at the chance to read and review it.

Plus the cover helped! Shirtless guy whoo hooo! Although, if you look at it closely he looks like he’s got sunburn. But never mind!

Hero of My Heart starts off with Alasdair buying Mary off her half brother, for five pounds. Instantly, I was intrigued and wanted to know what would happen next. Alasdair merely bought Mary so that she wouldn’t be hurt, or stolen of her virtue. Alasdair proposes to marry her, and Mary accepts.

Mary later finds out that Alasdair is addicted to opium and instead of running away she stays with him and tries to help him fight his addiction.

The story-line was simple, but effective. Alasdair and Mary were on the run through most of the book, so there wasn’t much interaction with London society.

Mary was a very likable character. I connected with her and wanted her to be happy by the end of the book. Alasdair is a very head-strong character. I can see some readers not liking him and being frustrated by him, but HEY! I’m a sucker for historical romance so I was sold by the first paragraph! Which, in hindsight IS a little shallow, but I like what I like.

I liked the sub plot, which was Mary finding out more about her Mother. Mary had always believed that she had died while giving birth to her, but it turned out she was a Lady and happily married.

The romance between Alasdair and Mary was gradual but steamy at the same time! Phewww! Some of those scenes were hot.

I would defiantly read this again, and am already on the lookout for more books by Frampton.

[Thanks to NetGalley and Loveswept for gifting me an eARC copy of this book in return for an honest review.]

About Author:

megan

 Goodreads

Megan Frampton’s love affair with books began when her parents moved her to a remote town in New Hampshire where there was only one television station. And then the TV broke. She devoured every book of fiction in her well-read parents’ library, finding special joy in Georgette Heyer and the fairy tales collected and translated by Andrew Lang. Megan majored in English literature at Barnard College and worked in teh music industry for fifteen years. She lives in Brooklyn, New York, with her husband (her former intern) and her son. (Book jacket, “A Singular Lady”)

4 thoughts on “Review: Hero of My Heart by Megan Frampton

  1. Pingback: JUNE Recap | ReadingToTheStarsAndBack

  2. Pingback: Weekly Wrap [16th June-23rd June] | ReadingToTheStarsAndBack

  3. Haha! That guy does look like he has a sunburn!!! So I almost never reads books where there are guys with shirts off because they always make me start to laugh…..No idea why, but I just think those covers are hilarious…..Don’t judge me!!!! But I love your review!! Nice job!!!

Thanks for commenting! It means a lot :)

