Review: Eve & Adam by Michael Grant & Katherine Applegate

eve and adam

Book Links: Goodreads | Amazon | B&N | Book Depository

Eve and Adam by Michael Grant & Katherine Applegate

Publish Date: October 1st 2012

Publisher:  Egmont Books Ltd

Genre: YA Sci-Fi

My Rating: 4.0/5.0

Book Description:

Sixteen-year-old Evening Spiker lives an affluent life in San Francisco with her mother, EmmaRose, a successful geneticist and owner of Spiker Biotech. Sure, Evening misses her father who died mysteriously, but she’s never really questioned it. Much like how she’s never stopped to think how off it is that she’s never been sick. That is, until she’s struck by a car and is exposed to extensive injuries. Injuries that seem to be healing faster than physically possible.

While recuperating in Spiker Biotech’s lush facilities, she meets Solo Plissken, a very attractive, if off-putting boy her age who spent his life at Spiker Biotech. Like Evening, he’s never questioned anything… until now. Solo drops hints to Evening that something isn’t right, and Emma-Rose may be behind it. Evening puts this out of her mind and begins her summer internship project: To simulate the creation of the perfect boy. With the help of Solo, Evening uncovers secrets so big they could change the world completely.

My Review:

I saw this in my library I knew that I just HAD to read it! The premise for this novel is really exciting and I don’t think that I’ve read anything quite like this before!

Eve, the main female character, has a car accident (while texting! Be warned you texters while driving!) and gets taken to hospital. Her Mother comes along and makes a big fuss about taking her AWAY from the perfectly good hospital and transferring her daughter to her own medical facility.

Even from the first chapter I had made my own assumption of Eve’s Mother. She was controlling and didn’t even care if her daughter died during the move. Nice woman.

It turns out that Eve’s leg is really messed up and might even have to be amputated, so the doctors tell her.

Eve’s best friend comes to visit her, she seems okay. I usually hate best friends in books, but she wasn’t too bad. Needed to grow a pair and dump her boyfriend though.

It’s during this point that Eve’s gets really bored and her mother shows her this virtual program where you can create your own perfect person. (It’s like a Wii! But, y’know, you can’t do abs and muscles on a Wii. CAN YOU?) Eves best friend calls this guy Adam, because ha.ha. Adam and Eve, perfect couple from the bible.

(Oh and I just quickly want to mention that although there was a mention of Adam and Eve and a serpent on the cover, this book wasn’t religion bashing or anything like that. There wasn’t even any mention of ANY religion, so if you didn’t want to pick this book up for any reason like that, you can now!)

Another character was introduced, Solo. All the way through this book, there was this whole ridiculous thing between Eve and Solo. “No, dammit I can’t fall in love with her!” “His eyes are so beautiful and perfect, but like, I don’t LOVE him or anything!” “Her sleep-drool is sexy!”

No, I’m not even making that last one up.

The romance between the two was stupid and a bit insta, seeing as they’ve never met each other beforehand, and now within a space of a week, maybe two, they are K-I-S-S-I-N-G.

Another big reveal occurs, that Solo has found out about all of these experiments that Eve’s Mother has been doing, and Eve was one of them. When she was a baby she was injected with Logan Serum, which makes her able to re-heal super quickly. (Like Wolverine, AKA, Logan from X-Men!)

There was some great action in this book too. It wasn’t over the top, but there where guns and fists which I liked and helped to liven up the book a little.

A lot happens in this book, despite it being 350+ pages. Personally, I think it should have been longer. Or maybe, (just this once) another book.

In the end of the book, the baddie isn’t the one who you think it is.

Overall, a fantastic premise with great action and technology that will blow your mind! Not to mention, the perfect man too. What more could you want?

About Authors:

grant

Goodreads | Facebook | Twitter

I was born in a manger and grew up in a log cabin where I read law books by firelight. . . Oh, wait, that wasn’t me, that was someones else.

I had a hard childhood. Hard for my parents. Not that bad for me. I was an Army brat, moved around a lot. Then I didn’t settle down. I just kept moving. Why? What inner turmoil drove me? Mmmm, I gotta say none. I just have a short attention span. Easily bored.

I’m living in Tiburon, CA right now. How much longer? Don’t know.

I’ve written 150 books. That’s right, I said 150. In your face, Stephen King. Granted, mine are shorter than his. And less popular. And less likely to be made into a major motion picture. And I guess i don’t play in a band with Dave Barry, either, do I?

Sorry: Salieri complex acting up.

Most of those books — and by “most” I mean 149 out of 150 — I wrote with my wife, the lovely, the talented, the eternally hot, Katherine (K.A.) Applegate. We’ve been together for 29 years. Which is a long time. Looooong time. Sweet lord what a long . . . No babe, I’m not implying anything.

Damn internets: you never know who’s reading things.

Anyway, GONE. My goal in writing GONE? To creep you out. To make you stay up all night reading, then roll into school tired the next day so that you totally blow the big test and end up dropping out of school.

GONE. Imagine a world where every adult vanishes in an instant.

Coming soon, a whole other series: BZRK.

applegate

Website | Goodreads | Twitter

Applegate was born in Michigan in 1956. Since then she has lived in Texas, Florida, California, Minnesota, Illinois, North Carolina, and after living in Pelago, Italy for a year, she has moved back to Southern California. She has an eleven year old son named Jake Mates, although she says the Animorph leader is not named after him. In 2003 she and her husband, Michael Grant, her co-author on many projects including Animorphs, adopted their daughter, Julia, in China.[citation needed] Following the end of Animorphs, Applegate took three years off. She is back at work and has written a picture book called “The Buffalo Storm,” a middle reader novel called “Home of the Brave,” and an early chapters series “Roscoe Riley Rules” with Harper Collins. Her book “Home of the Brave” has won the SCBWI Golden Kite Award, the Bank Street 2008 Josette Frank Award, and is a Judy Lopez Memorial Award honor book.

3 thoughts on “Review: Eve & Adam by Michael Grant & Katherine Applegate

  1. Pingback: JUNE Recap | ReadingToTheStarsAndBack

  2. Pingback: Stacking the Shelves [20] & The Sunday Post [17] | ReadingToTheStarsAndBack

Thanks for commenting! It means a lot :)

