Review: Billy & Me by Giovanna Fletcher

billy

Book Links: Goodreads | Amazon | Waterstones | Book Depository

Billy and Me by Giovanna Fletcher

Publish Date: May 23rd 2013

Publisher: Michael Joseph (Penguin UK)

Genre: Adult Romance

Source: Library!

My Rating: 4.0/5.0

Book Description:

Sophie May has a secret.

One that she’s successfully kept for years. It’s meant that she’s had to give up her dreams of going to university and travelling the world to stay in her little village, living with her mum and working in the local teashop.

But then she meets the gorgeous Billy – an actor with ambitions to make it to the top. And when they fall in love, Sophie is whisked away from the comfort of her life into Billy’s glamorous – but ruthless – world.

Their relationship throws Sophie right into the spotlight after years of shying away from attention. Can she handle the constant scrutiny that comes with being with Billy? And most of all, is she ready for her secret heartbreak to be discovered and shared with the nation?

My Review:

Billy and Me was a very easy book to read, I instantly connected with Sophie May, as she was a reader and also lived in KENT! Not that a characters location has anything to do with how much I like her, but we live in the same place! Kind of…Kent is actually quite big. But anyway, like her I live in a small town.

And when Sophie made her mistake about Billy, I felt her embarrassment and just wanted to bake her a cake and tell her that it’ll be alright.

One thing that I DIDN’T like about Sophie was that she was always crying. At every single chapter. Okay, I realise that in real life girls cry sometimes BUT I don’t want to read about another girl crying, I have enough problems to deal with thanks!

Billy, was very naive. He didn’t really seem to know what was going on, and was dragged along by his manager who was horrid.

Whenever Sophie mentioned her Father, it sounded like there was going to be a big secret revealed at the end, like he was murdered or something, but that didn’t happen. An anti-climax that left me disappointed.

And the synopsis is very misleading. What secret? Everyone knows it! [I’m keeping the ‘secret’ out of this review because of SPOILERS!] And Sophie CHOSE to stay at home and not go off to university. The description makes it sound like she was FORCED to stay at home with her mother.

She wasn’t!

I demand a re-write of the synopsis.

Overall, I’m rating this a four star because although I DID point out some issues, I really did enjoy Billy and Me and if Mrs Fletcher decided to write any more books, I would happily read them!

An impressive debut!

About Author:

giovanna

Website | Goodreads | Twitter

Giovanna grew up in Essex with her Italian dad Mario, mum Kim, big sister Giorgina and little brother Mario, and spent most of her childhood talking to herself (it seems no one wanted to listen) or reading books.

At thirteen she left Essex behind to attend the full-time Sylvia Young Theatre School, where she met her husband Tom Fletcher. Following SYTS she completed an acting BA (hons) at Rose Bruford – since then she’s been acting, chaperoning mini actors and dabbling in a spot of freelance journalism.

Giovanna is a firm believer in the power of magpies and positive energy.

[A quick note from me!

Sorry about the lack of review yesterday! It was late afternoon before I realised I hadn’t writen anything and then it was too late. So, tomorrow I should have a review of White Trash Beautiful up. Just letting you know! Thats it, hope you have a great day! Thanks for stopping by my review!

Charlie xx]

2 thoughts on “Review: Billy & Me by Giovanna Fletcher

  1. Pingback: JUNE Recap | ReadingToTheStarsAndBack

  2. Pingback: Stacking the Shelves [20] & The Sunday Post [17] | ReadingToTheStarsAndBack

Thanks for commenting! It means a lot :)

