Review: Dusk by Eve Edwards

dusk

Dusk by Eve Edwards

Book Links: Goodreads | Amazon | Book Depository

Publish Date: June 6th 2013

Publisher: Penguin

Genre: YA, Historical Fiction, Romance

Source: Library!

My Rating: 5.0/5.0

Book Description:

A love worth fighting for.

When Helen, a young hard-working nurse, meets aristocratic artist Sebastian, she doesn’t expect to even like him, let alone fall in love. But against the troubled backdrop of wartime London, an unlikely but intense romance blossoms. And even the bloody trenches of the Somme, where they are both posted, cannot diminish their feelings for each other.

But Helen is concealing a secret and when a terrible crime is committed there are devastating consequences for them both.

When lives are being lost, can true love survive?

MY REVIEW:

I’ve read so many historical lately, if anyone actually reads my review then they will know how much I love them.

I’ve read the Victorian series by Edwards and, obviously, loved them! So when I heard that she was writing a WW1 historical I was SO HAPPY! And I’m not ashamed to admit that when I saw this in my library I may have screamed. (Shhh…Don’t tell them or I won’t be allowed in there again!)

Let’s start from the ending (because WHY NOT?)

It was so unfair! When you finish Dusk, you will be so frustrated and possibly throw the book across the room. I know I did. But it was a good kind of frustration. If you know what I mean.

Helen was just beautiful. She was innocent, but old before her time. The one thing that annoyed me about her was that she basically had no self worth and believed it if anyone said she was worthless. I just wanted to hug her and drag her over to Sebastian.

Sebastian, a very charming gentleman! Several times I nearly cried because of what he had to go through in the trenches and the loss of his men, whom he obviously cared for.

What’s even harder when you read novels like this is…you KNOW it happened. It isn’t made up, men and women REALLY had to go through things like this. It’s not like the Hunger Games where you know that it’s not real and you can, almost, shrug it off. WW1 was REAL and it makes the everyday problems we have today just pale in comparison.

Sorry! Went into a bit of a rant there! I don’t want to mess up anyone’s day with my depressing thoughts. Back to the review!

Dusk wrenched out my heart, chewed it up, spat it out only to have it ripped out again by the cruel hands of love, frustration and war.

Overall, Dusk lived up to my HIGH expectations. I would recommend this to my Nan, my Mum, and my friends, because I believe that they would ALL enjoy it. Can’t wait for the second novel, Dawn. Yes there’s a second one! I’ll leave you with that thought 😛

About Author:

eve

Website | Goodreads | Twitter | Facebook

Eve Edwards has a doctorate from Oxford University and thinks researching a large part of the fun for writing historical fiction. She has visited Tudor houses, attended jousts and eaten Elizabethan banquets to get the sights, sounds and tastes right for this book. And, yes, she can testify that it is possible to eat neatly without the modern invention of the fork. She lives in Oxford and is married with three children.

2 thoughts on “Review: Dusk by Eve Edwards

  1. Pingback: Monthly Wrap-Up: JULY | ReadingToTheStarsAndBack

  2. Pingback: Stacking the Shelves [22] & The Sunday Post [19] | ReadingToTheStarsAndBack

Thanks for commenting! It means a lot :)

