Review: The 5th Wave by Rick Yancey

the 5th wave

The 5th Wave by Rick Yancey

Book Links: Goodreads | Amazon | B&N | Book Depository

Publsih Date: May 1st 2013

Publisher: Penguin Books

Genre: YA, Science Fiction

Source: I bought it!

My Rating: 5.0/5.0

Book Description:

After the 1st wave, only darkness remains. After the 2nd, only the lucky escape. And after the 3rd, only the unlucky survive. After the 4th wave, only one rule applies: trust no one. Now, it’s the dawn of the 5th wave.

On a lonely stretch of highway, Cassie runs from Them. The beings who only look human, who roam the countryside killing anyone they see. Who have scattered Earth’s last survivors. To stay alone is to stay alive, until Cassie meets Evan Walker. Beguiling and mysterious, Evan may be her only hope for rescuing her brother and even saving herself.

Now she must choose: between trust and despair, between defiance and surrender, between life and death. To give up or to get up. Cassie Sullivan gets up.

MY REVIEW:

(If I’m truly honest, The 5th Wave had me at the sample chapter that I downloaded. I read it and knew I wanted the full book in my life.)

O. M. Freaking. G. I am SOOO glad that I bought this book when I did! I kept reading YA/NA romance novels that have the SAME BORING OLD CHARACTERS (ahem) and this was like sunshine beckoning me out from a deep, dark tunnel of YA/NA novels that have no imagination. Figuratively speaking.

I heard about The 5th Wave a few months ago, but because I’m a student and have NO money, I waited until it had gone down in price before I picked it up. At the time, I kept reading negative reviews and didn’t want to pay £8 for a book that I might not even like! As it happens, I paid about £4 for a book that I really enjoyed. **smug face**

I’ll admit, that for the first few chapters I thought The 5th Wave was very vague and I wasn’t really sure of the details and of HOW the aliens where infiltrating earth. But then, things started to make more sense.

Personally, I thought the second half was MUCH better than the first. It was fast paced, and I felt connected to the characters. Especially Cassie.

Cassie and I just have so much in common. We are both sixteen and we both have five year old brothers. At one point Cassie and her brother get separated, and I genuinely felt SICK reading that part. If I got separated from my brother I would go mad. Literally, insane.

So apart from the alien invasion, yeah, we have stuff in common!

The main thing that got me about this book was that fact that it was so real. Like, I could see this happening. If I believed in Aliens, I would be pooping myself. The 5th Wave made it sound like an invasion could happen TOMORROW. That’s what’s so real, and scary about it.

While I was reading this novel, there were some parts that reminded me of John Green. Not his novels, as such, more his writing style. Here you have an author who is so intent on his characters, that he lives and breathes them. I feel like ALL of the characters in The 5th Wave could be real.

I know that doesn’t really make sense, but it does to me and I’m the one writing the review so there. Ha!

This is actually a really emotional novel. I teared up at some points, I laughed in others. For most of the book my heart was in my throat, and I was just waiting for the worst to happen. It really made me think, and second guess myself and Cassie.

Overall, one of the best books I’ve read so far this year! Well worth £10 in my opinion! I would re-read this over and over again. It even has a special place on my physical book shelf. What are you waiting for? Go geddit! And send me your reviews! Even if you didn’t like it, just send me reviews!

About Author:

rick

Website | Goodreads | Facebook | Twitter

Rick is a native Floridian and a graduate of Roosevelt University in Chicago. He earned a B.A. in English which he put to use as a field officer for the Internal Revenue Service. Inspired and encouraged by his wife, he decided his degree might also be useful in writing books and in 2004 he began writing full-time.

Since then he has launched two critically acclaimed series: The Extraordinary Adventures of Alfred Kropp, for young readers, and The Highly Effective Detective, for adults. Both books are set in Knoxville, Tennessee, where Rick lived for ten years before returning to Florida.

7 thoughts on “Review: The 5th Wave by Rick Yancey

  1. Pingback: Monthly Wrap-Up: JULY | ReadingToTheStarsAndBack

  2. This book sounds fantastic but I got scared away when I saw all those negative reviews! But after your review I really need to check this book out!!! And also I love how Cassie is sixteen!!! Sixteen year olds must unite!!! 🙂 Definitely going to check this one out! Thanks for the great review!!!

  3. Okay, I’ll have to read this one! I loved how you said that all of the characters felt like they were real and it sounds like it’s really exciting! 🙂 Great review!

    Alice @ Alice in Readerland

Thanks for commenting! It means a lot :)

