Stacking the Shelves [24] & The Sunday Post [21]

stacking the shelves

Stacking the Shelves is hosted by Tynga Reviews!

Hey there! This StS counts as two weeks worth of books because it was sunny last Saturday and basically, I couldn’t be bothered to list all of my books. So…i’ve got to do it this week instead. Blahhhh! I love it really! All links go to GR unless stated. Leave me links to your posts!

Borrowed from Library:

red queen The Red Queen by Philippa Gregory

The Red Queen tells the story of the child-bride of Edmund Tudor, who, although widowed in her early teens, uses her determination of character and wily plotting to infiltrate the house of York under the guise of loyal friend and servant, undermine the support for Richard III and ultimately ensure that her only son, Henry Tudor, triumphs as King of England.

Through collaboration with the dowager Queen Elizabeth Woodville, Margaret agrees a betrothal between Henry and Elizabeth’s daughter, thereby uniting the families and resolving the Cousins War once and for all by founding of the Tudor dynasty.

**

Has anyone been watching the BBC series of The White Queen? It’s so awesome! I’ve already read The White Queen and so I know what happens to the king :(( **spoliers** haha!

unearthlyUnearthly by Cynthia Hand

In the beginning, there’s a boy standing in the trees . . . .
Clara Gardner has recently learned that she’s part angel. Having angel blood run through her veins not only makes her smarter, stronger, and faster than humans (a word, she realizes, that no longer applies to her), but it means she has a purpose, something she was put on this earth to do. Figuring out what that is, though, isn’t easy.

Her visions of a raging forest fire and an alluring stranger lead her to a new school in a new town. When she meets Christian, who turns out to be the boy of her dreams (literally), everything seems to fall into place and out of place at the same time. Because there’s another guy, Tucker, who appeals to Clara’s less angelic side.

As Clara tries to find her way in a world she no longer understands, she encounters unseen dangers and choices she never thought she’d have to make between honesty and deceit, love and duty, good and evil. When the fire from her vision finally ignites, will Clara be ready to face her destiny?

**

I saw this reccomended on GR so I thought, why not? Plus, the third book has come out? Yeah, I start the series just as it finishes…clever Charlie! Looks great though!

don't want to Don’t Want To Miss A Thing by Jill Mansell

Dexter Yates loves his fun, care-free London life; he has money, looks and girlfriends galore. But everything changes overnight when his sister dies, leaving him in charge of her eight-month-old daughter Delphi. How is he ever going to cope?

Comic-strip artist Molly Hayes lives in the beautiful Cotswold village of Briarwood. When it comes to relationships, she has a history of choosing all the wrong men. Leaving the city behind, Dex moves to Briarwood – a much better place to work on his parenting skills – and he and Molly become neighbours. There’s an undeniable connection between them. But if Dexter’s going to adapt, he first has a lot to learn about Molly, about other people’s secrets…and about himself.

**

Umm….hello? The guy is called Dexter! SOLD. I just finished this one and it was BRILL. Cooking up a review as we speak 🙂

jenny QJenny Q: Unravelled by Pauline McLynn

I’m Jenny Q. How do you do? I am officially a middle child since the baby bro arrived. But it’s OK because he is the best little bundle ever. Even my big brother’s group Ten Guitars are well into the lil dude. That includes the gorgeous Stevie Lee Bolton with his looks that just mesmerise me! And now my bro’s asked me to handle their fan mail – I’ll be secretary to the hottest boyband in Dublin! Will Stevie Lee finally notice me? But in between babies, boys and crazy band fans, will I have enough time to help Dad or look after exhausted Mum before everything becomes unravelled!

**

Just finished this one too! So funny! Wasn’t going to write a review but ended up doing so anyway 🙂 or a MINI review seeing as it’s quite short 🙂

For Review/ Upcoming Tours:

not pretty enough Not Pretty Enough by Jaimie Admans

“New Year’s Resolutions:
1. Lloyd Layton will know I exist. He once said three whole words to me, so this is obviously progress. If I don’t get a proper conversation out of him soon, then I’ll take my top off and streak through the cafeteria, because nobody could fail to notice these boobs.
2. I will not get expelled for streaking through the cafeteria.”

Those are the words that begin her mission.
Chessie is fourteen, not pretty enough, and very much in love. Lloyd Layton is hot, popular, and unaware of Chessie’s existence.
Her goal is clear: to get Lloyd to love her as much as she loves him, and she has exactly one year to do it.
As Chessie’s obsession with Lloyd reaches boiling point and she starts to spin a web of lies that spiral out of control, Lloyd turns out to be not quite the prince she thought he was. Can Chessie avoid the gathering storm before things go too far?

**

Read this one and thought it was really funny! Review in September…which isn’t that far away now! HELP!

moon childMoon Child by Tracy E. Banghart

Diana Calvert is so over high school. Who cares if Olivia hates her? And David needs to forget about having a crush on her STAT. Even Emma’s crazy fashion choices can’t keep Diana entertained. All she can hope for is a dance scholarship to a college as far away as possible from too-small, too-boring, too-nothing-ever-happens New Freedom, PA.

Then Diana meets Nicholas Woodhaven. He’s pale, angry…yet weirdly charming. The more time they spend together, the more she wonders who – or what – he really is. Because he isn’t anything like the other guys she knows. Not with the whole only-going-out-at-night thing. And living with his creepy aunt. And not going to school.

Just when Diana thinks she’s got Nicholas all figured out, people in her small, nothing-ever-happens town start dying. She has to wonder – can she trust him? And even more alarming – could she be next?

**

I haven’t read the first book yet…and now i have this one….eeeek!

edures What Endures by Katie Lee

Jason Kincaid is young, hot and successful.

An All-Star outfielder for the Seattle Mariners, he finally had everything he ever wanted, including a second chance with his high school sweetheart, Megan Williams.

But their hopes for a ‘happily-ever-after’ are dashed by tragedy.

A horrific car accident wipes out most of Jason’s memories. Unable to recall anything from the last fifteen years of his life, Jason is suddenly adrift, his once charmed life now in ruins.

Megan finds herself in the untenable position of having to deal with the fact that the man she’s helping to rebuild his life may look, and even act, like her beloved fiancé, but in reality, isn’t any longer.

Trying to protect herself, as well as Jason, Megan fights the attraction between them. . .to no avail. As their potent connection inevitably draws them closer, Megan wonders,

With the memories of their relationship gone, can love endure?

**

To be honest, I’ve read so many BAD NA contemporary romances, I don’t really have high hopes for this one. If it’s good I’ll be suprised, and VERY happy 🙂

naturalNatural Selection by Elizabeth Sharp

What do you do when you find out your family isn’t your family, death is knocking at your door, and that guy you can’t stop thinking about knows more about who you are than you do? Amelia Hoffman was just a normal 15 year old until she found out the truth. Now ancient myths, supernatural beings, and murder have changed everything. Tests and school dances are no longer the biggest worry in her life– she has to figure out how to save everyone she loves and accept the future in front of her before its too late.

**

I LOVE the authors name. ELIZABETH. SHARP. I could say it ALL DAY! But i won’t. Because that would be weird. Sharp. Elizabeth Sharp. Awesome name!

second nature Second Nature by ELIZABETH SHARP AGAIN!

Amelia Hoffman always knew she would be with Nathaniel Peplow forever, but after they bonded everything started to go wrong. Nate treats her like the enemy, her siblings are in danger, and an old threat grows closer. As Nate pulls away and Amelia’s burgeoning friendship with a handsome stranger blossoms, she worries she made the biggest mistake of her life. If sorting out her love life wasn’t enough, a new drug emerges that not only threatens the ones she loves, but seems to be part of something larger than she could ever imagine. Amelia’s new and old friends must work together to not only save themselves, but the whole world.

**

When I signed up for the tour, these covers where WAAAAy better than this! Like, with real people and RED hair, I have a thing for red hair. But not cartoony. Disapointed 😦

lovingLoving Your Lies by Piper Shelly

Julian is drop-dead gorgeous, annoyingly provocative, and he’s fast becoming her best friend. But he also has a secret that makes the little hairs on her arms stand on end…

My name is Jona Montiniere, and that’s pretty much the only good thing to say about me.

I’m seventeen, I’m snarky, and I’m a crap-load of trouble. Or so they say. But what did they expect from me really, when they dumped me in an orphanage at age five? That I’d grow up to become the new first lady? Nah, I think it’s much more fun to raid Camden Market in London with my friend, Debby. She’s cool. She lives on the street. I learned so much from her.

The only thing she missed to teach me was how to tend to a vineyard. And yeah, that’s what I’m going to do for the next 6 weeks, courtesy to this darn judge, who sent me off to France after I was caught stealing again. Fair enough, the vineyards are okay, and so are my aunt and uncle, who I haven’t met up ‘til now. What isn’t okay, and I mean it, is that I have to live in the same house with my mother, that god-awful dragon, who spurned when I was only a child. And now she wants me back? Demands my forgiveness? Why, because she’s about to die of cancer? Uh-uh. Sorry, but that’s not gonna happen. I want no contact with that woman, thanks.

But what’s Julian got to do with all of this? About my age, he’s too young to be my mother’s lover. So why doesn’t he leave her side? Ever. He’s different, as in the paranormal kind of different, but he’s sa-woon-worthy gorgeous. He obviously has secrets, but he’s also get-under-my-skin charming. In short, he’s a riddle to me. But he likes me, and that’s scaring the shit out of me. I sure won’t let anyone come too close.

So now I’m wondering only two things: How did he manage to hold me in his arms after only three days? And how the hell do you keep an angel earth bound?

**

Could the synopsis be any LONGER? Sheesh. GET TO THE POINT!

Requested from NetGalley:

highlander Highlander Betrayed by Laurin Wittig

Rowan MacGregor, orphaned niece to the chief of the MacAlpins and the rock her family depends upon, is worried. With the dwindling health of her aunt, the Guardian of the Targe, the protections that have kept the clan safe and prosperous are fading, and the new Guardian, one of her cousins, has yet to be chosen. Rowan wants nothing more than to see the clan protected again, but when it seems that will never happen, she despairs—even when a handsome and charming stranger comes to her aid.

Nicholas fitz Hugh is not what he seems. Half-English, half-Scottish, he turned his back on his Scottish heritage early in his life, giving his loyalty to England instead. Now he is a talented and cunning spy charged with finding and stealing the Highland Targe for his king.

But when Nicholas finds himself falling for the bonny Rowan and wanting to protect the family she holds so dear, he is forced to choose between his king’s will and his own: Will he betray his king and his mission? Or will he turn his back on the woman he has come to love?

**

I WANT her hair!!! Gimme, gimme, gimme! I TOLD you I had a thing for redheads!

sometimesSometimes a Rogue by MAry Jo Putney

Sometimes…

Even the most proper young lady yearns for adventure. But when the very well bred Miss Sarah Clarke-Townsend impulsively takes the place of her pregnant twin, it puts her own life at risk. If the kidnappers after her sister discover they’ve abducted Sarah instead, she will surely pay with her life…

A Rogue…

Rob Carmichael survived his disastrous family by turning his back on his heritage and becoming a formidable Bow Street Runner with a talent for rescuing damsels in distress. But Sarah is one damsel who is equal to whatever comes. Whether racing across Ireland with her roguish rescuer or throwing herself into his arms, she challenges Rob at every turn.

**

**Singing along to Material Girl…** Imma historical gal, I am I’m a historical GIRL! Yeah…I know your all singing a bit of Madonna!

secret weapon A Lady’s Secret Weapon by Tracey Devlyn

Boudoir spy Ethan deBeau, Lord Danforth, has charmed his way into the beds of wives and mistresses of powerful men across England and Europe. Because of his rogue attempt to save a loved one, he is sent to London to locate a missing child, an assignment any junior intelligence officer could accomplish. Who knew a proprietress, with a penchant for fixing things, would swoop in to complicate his mission? He soon learns she harbors more secrets than the Foreign Office and sets about uncovering each one, kiss by kiss.

For years, Sydney Hunt, proprietress of the Hunt Agency, has worked to improve the lives of those in service by negotiating better employment terms for them and ensuring they are not sent to abusive households. When word reaches her of strange activities occurring at a local home for orphans, she begins to investigate, using her extensive system of spies. Little did she realize that she would soon join forces with a notorious rake, who represents everything she despises in a man.

The closer they come to locating the missing child, the more they realize they have stumbled into the middle of a dangerous and intricate web, pitting one powerful country against another. Entrenched in London’s underworld, with his beautiful proprietress, Ethan soon realizes everything he ever wanted was trembling with honor and righteous anger at his side. Does his realization come to late? Will his enemy make him choose between his beloved country and his newfound love?

4 to 164 to 16 Characters by Kelly Hourihan

Fifteen-year-old Jane Shilling’s best friends don’t know her real name. In fact, they don’t know anything about her at all. Jane’s life has collapsed in the last few years; following the death of her mother, her father turned to drinking, and Jane is reeling from the double blow. To escape, Jane devises a number of online personas, each with a distinct personality, life history, and set of friends. But things become trickier when she finds herself drawing close to some of her online friends, and winds up struggling with the question of how to maintain a real friendship while masquerading as a fake person. With the help of Gary, a socially awkward classmate and competitive Skeeball player who is Jane’s only offline friend, and Nora, her therapist, Jane begins to sift through her issues. The only catch is that that involves taking a long, hard look at what her life’s like when the computer is shut off, and that’s a reality she’s been fighting for years.

**

Just got accepted for this! Looks GOOOOOD!

AND THATS ALL THE BOOKS I GOT! IN TRUTH, I WAS EXPECTING MORE, BUT NEVER MIND! KEEP SCOLLING DOWN FOR MY SUNDAY POST 🙂

the sunday postThe Sunday Post is hosted by The Caffeinated Book Reviewer

Books Read:

 Manic by JA. Huss

 

You Against Me by Jenny Downham

 

 Not Pretty Enough by Jaimie Admans

 

Don’t Want To Miss A Thing by Jill Mansell

 Jenny Q: Unravelled by Pauline Mc Lynn

Book of the Week:

don't want to

Loved it and will be purchasing for my physical shelf!

Books Reviewed:

Love Unbroken by Victoria Bright

Faking It by Cora Carmack

Manic by J. A. Huss

Other Posts:

Cover Reveal: Tone Deaf by Olivia Rivers

Excerpt & Giveaway: You Are Mine by Janeal Falor

Upcoming on the Blog:

Sunday I’ll be posting my monthly wrap-up post for July 🙂

Possibly a cover Reveal on Monday

Review of You Against Me by Jenny Downham

Mini- Review of Jenny Q: Unravelled

Any other days I’ll just have to wing it!

Life Updates:

  • I went to a beach! WOOO! I went with my Mum and Brothers and we where there for 8 and half HOURS! I got slightly burnt across my shoulders, even though I loaded myself up on cream 🙂
  • I’ve been listening to Burn by Ellie Goulding for the last few days and think it’s a great song.
  • My knitting is going really well! I done a tea pot cosy for my Mum, I just need to add a few details, today I done a small heart…aww!
  • Hope everyone has been enjoying the summer while it lasts!

 

Thanks for reading! Don’t forget to leave your StS links down below so I can be nosy and see what you got!

Charlie xx

 

One thought on “Stacking the Shelves [24] & The Sunday Post [21]

  1. Wow! A fabulous haul 🙂 I love the look of Not Pretty Enough. I enjoyed The Red Queen. I really like Philippa Gregory’s writing. I hope you enjoy all of your books this week 😀 Happy Reading! 🙂

Thanks for commenting! It means a lot :)

