Interview & Giveaway: Steel Lily by Megan Curd [Book Tour]

SteelLilyBanner

Welcome to my stop on the Steel Lily tour! Don’t forget to scroll down and check out my interview with Megan and enter to the giveaway!

Steel Lily by Megan Curd

Book Links: Goodreads

Genre: Dystopian

Publish Date: 20th August 2013

Steel Lily-ebooklgBook Description:

AVERY PIKE is a commodity. No, more than a commodity. Her existence is guarded at all costs.

She’s a water Elementalist, the strongest of her dwindling kind. She creates steam to provide energy to fuel Dome Four: the only thing standing between humanity and an earth ravaged by World War III. No steam, no Dome. No Dome, no life.

Or so she thinks.

That is, until a mysterious man offers her a way out of having to donate steam. A way to escape the corrupt government of Dome Four. While the offer seems too good to be true, Avery is intrigued.

But when she arrives to her new home, she realizes the grass isn’t any less dead on this side of the fence. Instead, the lies are just hidden better.

…Which means digging deeper.

When Avery enlists the help of her friends to uncover the truth, she learns that while some secrets are better left concealed, humankind was never meant to live in a cage. And when you can control the most sought after resource, you can learn to control anything…including the fate of your world. me immunity to the Polatzi as long as I didn’t do anything stupid.

Author Interview 🙂

Writing Questions

What inspired Steel Lily? Honestly, Steel Lily was a concept at first - something that had come from me reading a LOT of Cassandra Clare over the holidays 2 years ago. I loved Clare's clear world building and the steampunk ideas she worked in. It made me wonder what it would be like to mash up the dystopian and steampunk themes, and Steel Lily is what came of it.

How often do you write? I try to write daily, but if not daily, every other day. My husband is really good about letting me sneak off with my imaginary friends when he gets home from work! :)

How long did it take to write Steel Lily? Approximately three months for the first draft, but I wasn't writing every day at that point. From first draft to super-polished pretty, it was closer to about eight months.

Have you always enjoyed writing? I have since high school, but I was never serious about it until a friend of mine encouraged me to try to write in college. It took hold of me at that point, and I loved the creation process. When I first published Bridger and realized people enjoyed the story, I about died. Since then my love for writing has continued to grow and there's no sign of it diminishing. :) 

Do you listen to music when you write? If so, what? YES!!! I can't write without music. Right now I'm listening to a lot of Imagine Dragons, Muse, Lindsey Stirling, and Ellie Goulding. However, usually I'm more of a Mumford & Sons, Bon Iver, The Civil Wars, The Black Keys, and Bob Marley kind of girl. Each book kind of dictates the mood, though, so I am constantly making new stations on Pandora!

What kind of books do you like to read? Has this effected the type of books you like to write? I love to read YA! I think as a writer, you have to know your genre, so I love to read books out in the categories I write. Like I said before, I'm a huge fan of Cassandra Clare, but I love J.K. Rowling, Suzanne Collins, Veronica Roth, Angeline Kace, and Heather Hildenbrand. Outside my genre I read a lot of Ted Dekker, Dan Brown, and Denise Grover Swank. You can't go wrong with any of those authors.

Fun Questions!

If Steel Lily was made into a movie, who would you cast as the main characters? Ha! How cool would that be? I don't have an exact match for Avery, but I think it'd be someone like Chloë Grace Moretz.

 chloe-grace-moretz-picture-19583018.htm.jpg

I think it would be VERY hard to cast Jaxon, but I would go with someone like Corbin Bleu for him…but obviously with dreadlocks. :)

url.jpg

If you could meet any author, dead or alive, who would it be and why? I would give anything to meet J.K. Rowling. The woman is a mastermind. I would love to see her notes on all her characters, see her maps for Hogwarts and see her process to writing. I'd probably just pass out if I saw her, though. I would totally go fangirl and lose my ability to think in straight lines. :)

Favourite type of fizzy drink? (Or any drink if you don’t drink fizzy things.) Fizzy drink would be Coca-Cola, but honestly I prefer Starbucks. I'm a coffee-aholic!

Do you have any advice for aspiring authors out there? NEVER give up. Write what you enjoy - not what is selling at the current moment. Write for you, and write often. Hone your craft by seeking out those who have been in the industry longer, and utilize the advice they give you. Take constructive criticism to heart and grow through it. Attend conferences and meet people in the industry. This is such an exciting time to be a writer - take advantage of it! :)

Would you like to say anything to your readers? That I love and appreciate each and every one of you. Seriously, you guys are the reason I write! I read and do my very best to respond to every email, tweet, or FB post you guys write, and it will ALWAYS be me. I love chatting with you guys and hearing your thoughts, so please feel free to contact me any time! :)

And lastly, do you have any other exciting projects coming up? (That you can tell us about :P  ) I am hoping to have Steel Lily's sequel, IRON PENDULUM, out by Christmas at the latest! Keep your fingers crossed, but that's the plan at the moment. :) Look for the third book not far behind that, and maybe a novella tossed in there as well. It all depends on what the writing mojo allows, haha! :)

GIVEAWAY:

1 Grand Prize!

Runner Up Prizes!

(See rafflecoptor for details.)

A RAFFLECOPTOR GIVEAWAY

About Author:

curd

Website | Goodreads | Twitter | Facebook

Megan Curd is a graduate of Northwestern College in St. Paul, Minnesota. While having always enjoyed reading any books she could get her hands on, Megan didn’t begin writing until a friend encouraged her to do so while in college.

When not writing, Megan enjoys spending time with her family and friends. Traveling and snowboarding are hobbies she loves, and doesn’t turn down the opportunity to play xBox with her brother and friends when it presents itself.

Megan currently resides in Stanton, Kentucky with her husband, son, and Great Dane named Dozer.

2 thoughts on “Interview & Giveaway: Steel Lily by Megan Curd [Book Tour]

Thanks for commenting! It means a lot :)

