Review: Don’t Want To Miss A Thing by Jill Mansell

don't want to

Don’t Want To Miss a Thing by Jill Mansell

Book Links: Goodreads | Amazon | B&N | Book Depository

Publish Date: January 31st 2013

Publisher: Headline Review

Genre: Adult Fiction, Contemporay Romance

Source: Library!

My Rating: 5.0/5.0

Book Description:

Dexter Yates loves his fun, care-free London life; he has money, looks and girlfriends galore. But everything changes overnight when his sister dies, leaving him in charge of her eight-month-old daughter Delphi. How is he ever going to cope?

Comic-strip artist Molly Hayes lives in the beautiful Cotswold village of Briarwood. When it comes to relationships, she has a history of choosing all the wrong men. Leaving the city behind, Dex moves to Briarwood – a much better place to work on his parenting skills – and he and Molly become neighbours. There’s an undeniable connection between them. But if Dexter’s going to adapt, he first has a lot to learn about Molly, about other people’s secrets…and about himself.

MY REVIEW:

The first thing that attracted me to this book was the name, ‘Dexter.’ I LOVE the name Dexter! Ever since I read One Day by David Nicholls, I have fallen in love so much, that I’m going to name my firstborn son, Dexter. Yes, I am. No, I don’t care if I’m only 16. He shall be called Dexter!

The other reason is the title, makes me think of that film Armageddon. (EVEN WHEN I DREAM OF YOOOOOOU!!!!)

Anyway, I picked up DWTMAT and started flicking through it. Within five minutes I was HOOKED! I haven’t read any of Jill Mansell’s books before, so this was basically the deal breaker. Thank goodness I LOVED it!

I love how it isn’t just about two characters, it’s about the whole town. And about different people who are connected to each other in some distant way. There was about three or more different love stories going on at once, so DWTMAT was in no way boring or dull, or lacking in characters!

I took this book with me to the beach, and it was perfect! Just such an easy going read J

There were some really cute moments with Delphi, Dex’s little niece whom he wanted to adopt after the death of his sister. There were some heartbreaking moments when Dexter found out about his sister dying and leaving a nine month old baby in his care.

There was a sense of relief at the end of the book when the people you wanted to get together, got together. I’d love to see a movie of this book, or a BBC series or something, I think that would be awesome!

Seeing as I thought DWTMAT was so good, I bought A Walk in the Park, so we’ll just have to see what I think of that, won’t we!

I would recommend this to anyone that wants a chunky read to last them a few days, and if anyone is going to the beach, if you love the name Dexter, if you want a romance book but that isn’t too heavy on the sex. I’m going to recommend this to my Mum & Nan, because I know that they will LOVE it!

About Author:

jill

Website | Goodreads | Twitter

Jill Mansell lives with her partner and children in Bristol, and writes full time. Actually that’s not true; she watches TV, eats fruit gums, admires the rugby players training in the sports field behind her house, and spends hours on the internet marvelling at how many other writers have blogs. Only when she’s completely run out of displacement activities does she write.

Jill Mansell’s books have sold over three million copies and her titles include: Making your Mind up, Fast Friends, Good at Games, Sheer Mischief and Solo, among many others.

2 thoughts on “Review: Don’t Want To Miss A Thing by Jill Mansell

Thanks for commenting! It means a lot :)

