Review: This is How I Find Her by Sara Polsky

this is how i find her

Book Links: Goodreads | Amazon | B&N

This is How I Find Her by Sara Polsky

Publish Date: September 1st 2013

Genre: YA Contemporary

Source: NetGalley

My Rating: 3.0/5.0

Book Description:

Sophie Canon has just started her junior year when her mother tries to kill herself. Sophie has always lived her life in the shadow of her mother’s bipolar disorder, monitoring her medication, rushing home after school to check on her instead of spending time with friends, and keeping her mother’s diagnosis secret from everyone outside their family. But when the overdose lands Sophie’s mother in the hospital, Sophie no longer has to watch over her. She moves in with her aunt, uncle, and cousin, from whom she has been estranged for the past five years. Rolling her suitcase across town to her family’s house is easy. What’s harder is figuring out how to build her own life.

MY REVIEW:

This is How I Find Her starts off with the MC, Sophie finding her Mum on the bathroom floor, overdosed on her medication. At first I thought it was going to be a really cool book and maybe I’d cry. Well, it wasn’t and I didn’t.

I’m not actually sure what it was with this book, but the writing style made Isabelle sound like a child. As if she wasn’t quite an adult yet, a little bit under developed and clueless of the world around her.

It wasn’t even explained why her friends stopped talking to her, until right at the end. In some books that just adds to the mystery and intrigue, but in this particular book, it made the book feel dragged out and dare I say boring?

There’s a small sentence that I wrote down in my notes and that is, “Depression doesn’t mean you’re crazy.” This main character of this book was worried that she might “catch” it from her mother. And that she didn’t want to have the “crazy gene”. Depression doesn’t mean you’re crazy. Need I say more?

The whole novel seemed a tad detached. As if the author didn’t want to put any life into This Is How I Find Her. That may not have been the intent, but that’s how it came across.

Overall, no I wouldn’t read anything by this author again and no, I wouldn’t recommend this book to anyone. But feel free to check it out if it sounds like something you would enjoy! Many people seemed to enjoy it on GR, so maybe it was just me.

About Author:

sara

Website | Goodreads | Twitter

Sara Polsky’s debut YA novel, THIS IS HOW I FIND HER, will be published by Albert Whitman in fall 2013. Her fiction has appeared in Fictitious Force and Behind the Wainscot. She is represented by Suzie Townsend.

Sara also blogs for Curbed, and her articles and essays have appeared in The Christian Science Monitor, The Forward, Poets & Writers, and other publications. She lives in New York City.

Thanks for commenting! It means a lot :)

